We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the type of place I want in my neighborhood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The stonegate bistro

The stonegate bistro
15 Scott Street, Kitchener, Ontario N2H 2P6, Canada
+1 519-954-7300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 440 Restaurants in Kitchener
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Bistro, Pasta, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Stonegate Bistro is located in the Kitchener/Waterloo region - one of North America's leading cities in computer technology. Stonegate Bistro is a 100 seat casual-fine-dining restaurant. We are inspired by classic dishes from around the world and focus on Continental Fusion Cuisine. Fusion Cuisine combines elements of various culinary traditions while not fitting specifically into any. The term generally refers to the innovations in many contemporary restaurant cuisines since the 1970s. Another incarnation of Fusion Cuisine is a more eclectic approach, featuring original dishes using ingredients from various cuisines and regions and combining them. We feature a wide variety of dishes inspired by a combination of various regional cuisines with new ideas, as seen in our Stonegate Bistro Fusion Menu.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is the type of place I want in my neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I went here for a special date with my sweetheart and was so happily surprised! The server was away so the owner acted as our chef and our server (and entertainment). I can honestly say ive never been anywhere better in kitchener. It was so urban and hidden away and then we went inside and were graced with a beautiful atmosphere and devine, high class food. So cool.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant in downtown Kitchener”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try. The service was great and it felt like they really enjoyed having us there. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced. The two of us got an appetizer, full meal, and a dessert for $25.00 each! Each course of the meal was amazing and they did not try to rush us so we had a chance to really enjoy everything and our time there. Suggesting it to all my friends and family for sure. Had a amazing time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Try Them Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

New place that is really fantastic. Chef does an excellent job and offers a really diverse menu. Service was friendly and speedy and food was delicious. You need to go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I went with a group of friends for a bachelorette party., and we had a fantastic time. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. The owners were so friendly and kind, you almost have the sense you are guests in their home. My whole experience was very positive, and I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional Flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a hidden gem. The chef is a lovely gentleman from Ethiopia who was doing double duty tonight as server and chef. The food was amazing. Spices are perfect. Wine list a bit limited, but not a deterrent, since food SO GOOD. Check it out, please, it would be a shame to let this place go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The stonegate bistro also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to The stonegate bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The stonegate bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.