We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be ready” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Smokehouse

Lancaster Smokehouse
574 Lancaster Street West, Kitchener, Ontario ON N2K, Canada
(519) 743-4331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 440 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Be ready”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You must be prepared for this experience, my advice is to go very hungry always, each dish is an explosion of flavor, so you will want to try all of them, the problem with that is the size of each, after having a meal here you need to take a 3 hour nap for sure, during that time I'm sure you will dream coming back to the place. The ambient is another thing you will enjoy, mainly if you like good and rich southern music. Attention is A+.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    57
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Visiting my sister in Kitchener/Waterloo and she took me to the Lancaster BBQ, the place smells of BBQ as soon as you get out of your car aqs their smoke house is in the back,
Great ambiance inside with wood paneling the main theme, our waitress was prompt and courteous, i had the 3 meat selection of ribs, chicken wings and brisket with sides of salad and beans, everything was excellent except the brisket was a bit on the dry side with bit too much fat for my liking, my sister had pulled pork slaw and onion rings, very satisfying with the onion rings looking like small doughnuts.
Seems the also have live blues bands on the weekends..
Great place, i'll definitely be looking forward to my next trip to Kitchener/Waterloo so i can return to this wonderful BBQ restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on Thursday September 26, 2013. The brisket sandwich was great! The meat was juicy and the sauce just right. It came with large side of coleslaw which was very good too. Dana, my server was excellent and provided speedy service even though they were busy. All in all another great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, WI
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Barbecue,Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went to the Lanc tonight for the first time. Went with two co-workers who've been there several times and another colleague who was also a first timer. We had reservations for 5:30 but would have gotten seated easily since it was about half full. Tables continued to fill up over the next hour.

Pretty good beer selection. Even better food. I had the three meat combo so I could sample their offerings. The ribs were only so-so. Overcooked, and while still edible, they ranked below average for ribs in good barbecue restaurants. But, ribs are quite variable. Could be that tomorrow night they'll be fab. The pulled pork was pretty good and the brisket was really good. Only two sauce choices, but I liked them both. One sweet and one smoky. I chose the onion rings and the jalapeño hush puppies for my sides. The onion rings (with Creemore Springs beer batter) were really good.

Not a fancy place, but who wants a fancy barbecue joint? Well, maybe you do, but I'm fine with the casual, almost rustic, atmosphere. The table service was pretty good. Lots of food for the price. I have dinner in a box for tomorrow night.

I'm sure I'll be back at the Lanc on a future trip to Kitchener.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waaaaaaaaaay Over Rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were met with a BQ and smoke smell right at the front door. The server helped us with menu choices. We opted for a 3 meat selection for my partner and I, and it was more than enough food.
We ordered the ribs which were dry and contained minimal meat. The brisket was good but not out standing. The chicken was moist and juicy and lived up to our expectations. The side dishes, baked beans and red beands and rice, were tasty.
We were both in agreement that the food quality was insufficient to have us consider a return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lancaster Smokehouse also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Lancaster Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.