We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bathroom tub was horrible didn't notice it until the...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    92
    62
    116
See reviews for
131
71
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night because we could not find another room for the date we chose. The quality was very poor. The room felt like we were in a motel. The flat screen TV was good but the HD did not work. The walls were covered in marks and dirt and the carpets were disgusting. I paid $103.00 for a room that I could have paid $60.00 for. The cleaning lady woke us up at 10:30AM to clean the room even though check out is at 11:30AM. I dropped something behind the bed and had to go behind to get it. There was dirt and dust everywhere and it smelled awful. There was a rip in the carpet that looked like it might go straight to concrete. The furniture was old and beat up with chips in the wood, and most of the lights seemed to be just decoration. There was nowhere to plug it in unless you unplug the heat or the fridge. The customer service was terrible on top of it. I had to stand at the counter for 15 minutes to check in because she was on the phone the entire time and at check out she did not even ask about our night. We also had to pay a $100.00 deposit and the at check out they took $40 saying we spilled something on the bed. But we did not.. Horrible place to stay, would not recommend to ANYONE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and expressing your concerns in regards to your recent stay the the Howard Johnson Kitchener. I do apologize that you feel that the hotel room was not up to hotel standards. Please know if you ever feel like that you do have the right to check out of the hotel room and find accommodations else where. I know that Kitchener Waterloo was not sold out as we do all do our hotel daily calls and see what other hotels are sitting at.
In regards to the $40.00 taken from the deposit (Which on expedia it does state that the hotel will require a deposit in regards to incidentals and damages). The housekeeper had checked the hotel room and there was blood found on 2 wash cloths, bath towel, the flat sheet and the mattress protector. When we had informed you in regards to this issue you had stated that you had Ulcers and that you were heading to the hospital. Unfortunately we cannot reuse these as they are stained and have to be thrown out. The charge of $40.00 doesn't even cover the cost of what had been thrown out however the general manager had found it to be fair as it was a medical issue.
If you have any further questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us at any time we can be contacted via e-mail at hojoguest@yahoo.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I arrived at the hotel and was informed that there would be an extra 100 dollar charge as a security deposit. This would be refunded following my stay. I was a little put out by this, they after all, had my credit card on file, not quite sure what the point of this was.

Hotel room was very nice, clean and comfortable, no complaints there at all. The sofa, fridge and microwave was a nice touch. Upon arrival the heat was set at 85...room was like an oven. Quickly cooled off when we turned heat to a more appropriate level.
Elevator extremely slow and took quite a while to arrive to floor when called.

Went to the breakfast room for the free breakfast - very limited selection of fruit, muffins and cereals - and it was very crowded, No place to sit and a sign informing me that taking any breakfast item to the room would result in a 10.00 charge. I had intended to take coffee and a muffin to the room instead of waiting for a table. Hmmmm, another strange policy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time and writing an honest review in regards to your family's recent stay at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. I am glad that you have enjoyed the hotel room and liked the recent updates. I do apologize that the incidental deposit on your credit card was not made clear. We ask to put an additional amount of $100.00 onto the credit card upon check in as if we were just to leave it on file if something were to happen to the room and we hadn't pre authorized (hold an amount) on the credit card and the card declined then the hotel would not be able to be able to charge for a guests's incidentals.
I do apologize for the slow elevator, when many people use the elevator and constantly push the buttons it does tend to slow down a bit.
In regards to the breakfast room sign, that sign was put in place to deter people away from taking many items to the room and not eating them. Housekeeping has found packs of bagel, jams, butters ect in the rooms and we end up throwing it out.

I do want to thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Kitchener for your recent accommodations and do hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Exactly what we expected for a $90.00 hotel, rooms were clean, linens fresh. Mattress was a bit hard for my liking. Rooms had great heat. Bathroom a little small but I didn't exactly spend a lot of time there. Pool was excellent, kids enjoyed the water slide and salt versus your normal chemical peel chlorine hotel pools.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Front Desk receptionist was very accomodating and helpful. Continental breakfast was good. The Cafe/Bar was nice. Beds excellent. The room could have been cleaner and badly needs updated. The pool heater was down so a little chilly. Will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Would ask for Pool side next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sharen45,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. I am very glad to hear that you had enjoyed both the room and our amenities that we provide. We do have one of the largest indoor pools in Kitchener and most everyone loves it, I am sorry that the hot tub may have not been the cleanest at the time you had used it, some decide to add things such as shampoo, soap to it to make the foamy appearance. Both the pool and the hot tub get cleaned daily for everyone to enjoy.
I do hope to see you again in the near future, we would like to keep you satisfied and have you as a returning customer at all times. We hope that you will choose us again when you come in to town.

See you again soon

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Address: 1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.