We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Port Elgin, Canada
1 review
“Weekend Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Front Desk receptionist was very accomodating and helpful. Continental breakfast was good. The Cafe/Bar was nice. Beds excellent. The room could have been cleaner and badly needs updated. The pool heater was down so a little chilly. Will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Would ask for Pool side next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sharen45,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. I am very glad to hear that you had enjoyed both the room and our amenities that we provide. We do have one of the largest indoor pools in Kitchener and most everyone loves it, I am sorry that the hot tub may have not been the cleanest at the time you had used it, some decide to add things such as shampoo, soap to it to make the foamy appearance. Both the pool and the hot tub get cleaned daily for everyone to enjoy.
I do hope to see you again in the near future, we would like to keep you satisfied and have you as a returning customer at all times. We hope that you will choose us again when you come in to town.

See you again soon

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    88
    50
    107
See reviews for
116
65
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
HAMILTON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This particular HOJO wasn't a terrible place to stay - great for the value and a place to lay my head at night. Better cleaning should be done - they don't move furniture to do it - found 2 Halloween chocolate bars, one under a coach and the other behind the night stand..the pool seemed a little grimy and the ice machine didn't seem overly clean as well...kids loved the pool regardless and the water slide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My stay at this hotel was very bad. Guests and staff smoke right at the main entrance, the rooms are very dirty, there is no elevator to get to the second floor. The TV did not work and I had to change rooms in the middle of the night. They have a pool which is small and they allow guests to eat dinner and have parties in the pool area (right beside it) with children present. Guests are allowed to use glasses which could easliy break and guests were allowed to consume alcohol in the pool area with children present. A pool is not a bar, you do not eat dinner there, bring glass there or consume alcohol there. An accident waiting to happen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
hollandlop,

Thank you for taking the time and expressing your concerns in regards to your recent stay with us at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. I am very sorry that you had found your stay at the hotel to be an unpleasant one.
Please know that we cannot control others from smoking near the front entrance of the hotel, I can guarantee you that it surely was not the staff at the Howard Johnson as they are told if (rarely have employees that are smokers) to smoke in the designated smoking area. However I will take the initiative and speak with the Leased out restaurants on site and ask them to smoke elsewhere.
Please know we are not the only hotel in the Kitchener area that has 1 side with elevator and 1 side that has stair access only (Holiday Inn and Best Western are right down the road from us as well and they both have a stair access section as well.) . When booking a room with one bed they tend to be on the 2nd floor which contains of no more then 12 stairs (6 and a landing and then 6 then the 2nd floor). I do apologize that you had TV difficulties and that the Front desk agents were prompt in moving you at 8:40pm (noted and shown on our hotel system).
I am sorry that you have found our pool area small the pool area it's self is 5000 square feet and the Heated salt water pool is 40x20. You are one of the first to comment about how small our pool is, in fact we are one of the hotels that have a larger pool. We do have signs that state no food or beverages in the pool area and do try our best to ask guests to take it back to their room.
In regards to the banquet room adjacent to the pool room, yes we do rent them out for wedding, occasions, buck and does, birthday parties. They are entitled to be in the hall until 2am, as they rent the hall for the full day for their function.
Overall I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel, if you do come back to the city if you would like to try our hotel again when booking please ask for a tower section room ( Elevator side) Please do note that the tower section does book up quick. On that side there are King Rooms and 2 Queens, they are a bit more money then your standard queen however you may prefer them better.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Address: 1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.