We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sexy night out for wife and I” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
CAMBRIDGE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sexy night out for wife and I”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We like the HoJo on Weber because of many reasons, The staff are very nice especially the cleaning lady (blond Hair lady) We really enjoy the Hot Tub and pool area as there is not ussually a crowd and the Hot Tub is normally in good condition and working well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
612RON

Wow!! You blew me away with the title that you had chose. But I am very glad to see that both you and your wife had enjoyed yourselves while here at the hotel. I hope to see you both again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time and expressing your great recent stay at the Howard Johnson Kitchener.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    92
    62
    116
See reviews for
131
71
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have unfortunatley stayed in this hotel before and was stuck in Kitchener again and all other hotels were sold out... I checked in and had to change rooms 3 times before I finally just gave up and left, and slept in my car in the parking lot.

The rooms are DISGUSTING! Stained sheets, stained carpet, hair in the sick in the bathroom, dust on the furniture... and they all smell of smoke!

Here is what I dont understand and I put it to management to respond here as they wouldn't when I was at the hotel. The rooms themselves are NOT that bad, WHY NOT JUST CLEAN THEM!?! Are you not embarassed by how many disgusting reviews of your hotel there are on tripadvisor? Do you even care? If you would just take the time to clean the rooms properly you may have some happy clients! The front desk is rude, housekeeping is rude, management is rude. The hotel is disgusting.

You dont need to spend money to improve this place, just train your staff and CLEAN the place, take some pride in your hotel, treat your customers properly, and maybe you will have some happy customers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
WorkinTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review in regards to your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay while at the hotel. Please know upon reading your review I would like to get more information in regards to the dates that you had stayed so I can speak to both the housekeeping manager and the housekeeper/s that had cleaned the 3 rooms you had seen. I can understand that you would be upset. Here at the Howard Johnson Kitchener we strive for "comfort away from home" we try our best for everyone to be as comfortable as possible, unfortunately at the time you had chosen to try our hotel one more time you were unsatisfied. If you could please kindly e-mail me at hojoguest@yahoo.com in regards to further details I would like to look into this further and see if we can come to a resolution.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We unfortunately had to stay in this disgusting hotel because of a volleyball tournament.

Honestly, we've travelled to CUBA many times, even 3 stars in Cuba, and I was more terrified to stay in this Howard Johnson. Very scary, nasty, and incredibly outdated.

it was so gross and dirty. especially the first room, which we demanded to get a new room. We ended up in a room a smidgen better. At least the second room didn't smell as horrible or have stains on the bedding,

The pool looked so dirty none of us used it.

Very dirty place, with very creepy people living out of the motel section.

Hopefully, since our stay, it's had some MAJOR renovations and cleaning.

Room Tip: the higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Angey B,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel up to standards when you had stayed with us 8 months ago. I'm honestly not too sure why you have decided to review our hotel now rather then 7-8 months ago. However both negative and positive reviews are completely valuable and I do appreciate that you've taken the time out of your busy schedule to comment in regards to your past stay. I do hope that you will give us another try in the future to come, perhaps try one of the rooms in the tower section, they are bigger and have more updates. I understand April is a very busy time with Cheer competitions, Volleyball and the Conventions in town and to be honest our tower section does get sold out first.

I am terribly sorry that you found our pool area to be dirty, most guests love our large heated indoor salt water pool, hot tub. When the hotel is sold out and very busy with kids our pool does get used a lot, however we do control it with adding Salt (like Chlorine however better on the body and the environment) with salt it does take a bit longer to clear up however I can assure you that we do have random quarterly inspections from the city of Kitchener's Health Department (all places with pools/spas/restaurants do) and we haven't had any complaints. Our pool is completely shut down from 11pm until 7am for Chemical's and cleaning purposes.

If you would like to email me and discuss your stay further you are more then welcome. My email address is hojoguest@yahoo.com.

I just want to wish you and your family a safe and Happy holiday season, Once again I apologize that your hotel room nor the pool area was up to your standards.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have come to this hotel for a few years and were pleasantly surprised at the improvements this year The place is very clean and the rooms have new carpets and king beds The front desk is very cheerful and pleasant. The only improvement would be bigger and softer towels We will be telling our friends about this hotel. The location is also great for getting around in Kitchener.
Len K Walkerton

Room Tip: The 4th floor is very quiet and the rooms are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have returned yearly to the HoJo because of the price and location. The hotel has improved over the past 8 years. Beds are comfortable and have been upgraded, rooms are clean and reasonably large, with inter connecting doors which makes couple get-to-gethers connvenient, The entrance is large and aethetically pleasing with receptionists friendly and welcoming. The parking is always easy and close with an under the canopy loading area.
However the bathrooms are a tad on the small size but more importantly the towels are too small and thin. When you have to dry yourself with two towels, it's kind of a joke.This has been a constant source of irritation and certainly would help improve their hotel image.
Finally thumbs up to the management for the improvemets so far, keeping the price very reasonable, breakfast included in the price, and hopefully by next fall more changes will have been made. Keep trying guys, we'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: We like the tower with the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojo11798, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time and writing a great review, I am glad to hear that you've enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. It has always been a great pleasure having you all stay with us right before the holidays. The fact that you all drive so far away to come participate in Operation Christmas Child really puts a smile on my face. You all are amazing people whom go above and beyond.
Thank you for pointing out a weakness or rather call it "place of improvement" I know we are not perfect however I do appreciate that you had enjoyed your stay and you are enjoying the updates as you see them yearly. I have brought it to the General Managers attention that it has been suggested bigger towels and can assure you that he is looking into it.

I want to wish you and your loved ones a very Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year. Looking forward to seeing you again late November/Early December.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Address: 1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.