We have stayed at this hotel for quite a few years, as it is covenient and economical when visiting family. The rooms in the tower have been improved with new carpet, and washbasin in new countertop, curtains and bedspread. The King beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are quite large, though the bath and toilet room (bathroom) is small. Cleanliness has improved, though dirty fingerprints around the bathroom light socket were unfortunate, and does nothing to make me think everything sparkles- not!
We find the in-room fridge and microwave useful, though the paper cups provided could be improved on.
Bedspreads are now laundered- a big improvement!
Breakfast is self service and basic, in nasty rooms which used to be storage rooms. I wish they would use the restaurant for breakfast then guests would not want to take food to their rooms, (which is now discouraged with a fee thretened) Muffins etc.are brought in from the supermarket next door...
Our room on the fourth floor was quiet. The fan on the heating only runs when heating/ cooling is taking place, but is quite noisy.
For some reason all the sockets in our room were disconnected when we arrived...we had to plug in everything except the fridge. Front desk welcome has improved a lot. The pool is good, pool towels small, thin (as are room towels) and a very grey white.
Rooms in the tower are worth the extra.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time out of your day and write a review of the Howard Johnson Kitchener. Your review is honest as it does have positive and negative points (hotel improvements). I am sincerely glad that you have visited us again and noticed some of the improvements that we have done. thank you for pointing out that the receptacle in your room had finger prints on them, I will point that out to the housekeeping manager and she will remind her staff that things such as this need a cleaning too.
I am sorry you were not happy with the quality of the drinking cups, unfortunately the cups are required as a part of the chain requirements. They are biodegradable and are better on the environment, as many know Howard Johnson Hotel's are trying to be as 'earth friendly" as possible. You are not the first to mention about the paper cups, in fact many liked having the china cups for the coffee as well.
I am sorry that you were not keen on the breakfast room or the items supplied, I will inform the GM and see where we can make changes to better the quality of our breakfast items. Yes indeed there are signs in the breakfast room stating that items must be eaten in the room. We have noticed that some guest's will load up on food and bring it back to the rooms and end up leaving it around their room leading to housekeeping throwing out a lot of food. We state that you are more then welcome to eat as much as you'd like but we don't like wasting the food either.
I am glad that you enjoyed the room on the 4th floor, we try our best to make all our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you for informing me of the heater in your room I will be informing the maintenance department to oil all the fans in the heaters throughout the hotel this week.
Thank you for Choosing the Howard Johnson Kitchener, I do hope that we see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.