We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
CALGARY
1 review
“very bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was very dirty. first night the dead bolt didn.t work . Was fixed 2 days later. second night there was no coffe cups in room. third night there was no coffee in room. at the continental breakfast there was moldy bagels for three days. not all of them just one that was ther for 3 days. carpets were filthy. windows were so dirty you could hardly see into the pool. very very disappointed. I would not recomend this HoJos to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    88
    50
    108
See reviews for
117
65
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PLAINFIELD
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I do not feel we got good value at the Howard Johnson. it is overpriced for what you get. A run of the mill hotel. Sfaff were friendly and courteus. the continental breakfast was the worst we've seen. the bread was stale. we went out for breakfast. it was very poor, time to take a look at what your competitors are doing; they are doing it WAY better. The hotel needs a face lift and until then, the prices need to be lower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KITCHENER
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked this hotel for ourselves and for friends and family coming in for our wedding, 4 seperate rooms. The rooms were prepaid by credit card weeks in advance, yet upon arrival the front desk rudely told us we had to pay AGAIN before they would check us in. Even the confirmation number we had was not good enough for them. Only after CALLING the manager (the front desk wouldn't go and find one for us) did we get to check in.

Our room was borderline acceptable. The room smelled musty, the bed looked like it had been hastily made after being slept in, and the bathroom was definitely not cleaned (hair in the bathtub, "usage" evidence in the toilet, and smudges on the mirror)

Upon checkout in the morning, we were AGAIN told we had to pay for our rooms! This time however, our confirmation number and our conversation with the manager were enough for the front desk and we left without further incident.

This was definitely not the experience we wanted for our wedding. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even if it was the only hotel in Kitchener with vacancy (which thanks to the International Plowing Match, it was)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONCORD
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel reception area looks well maintained and room was OK on balance but the hotel exterior and much of the interior ie, halls, rugs, walls,etc. - at least on the main floor where my room was - is tired and / or needs repair to the point of being a bit depressing. Maybe the areas on the upper floors didn't suffer from the same ailments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THORNHILL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had a great stay. I've been back to this location many times due to work and its always a pleasure. The pool is a great temperature but I would skip the hot tub.

The new restaurant is amazing - even if you aren't staying at the hotel you should visit the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELLAND
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I rented the King suite with in suite oversized double jacuzzi. The Website photospread was lovely....The actual room I got was shockingly dissapointing. This room was so not the room represeted on the website. Not only was the jacuzzi , no way near an oversize or double, It was also dirty. gritty, grunggy stuff all around the wall backsplash/recline areas. The cieling exhaust fans overhead did'nt work so we got all steamed up pretty fast, and the carpeting was warped and lifting allover the room making for a very challinging stroll without tripping. I had asked for a pull out couch be put in our room for the grandkids. We ended up with a love seat, and it was'nt the pullout kind. The bathroom was deplorable. Floor filthy, Tub with a ring around it and dryed on something. The sink was bolted to the wall and loose, tiles lifting off the bathroom floor. The smell of mold was so very apparent. The towels supplied were absobant and abundant, but a dingey grey/white and so rough, but hey, they left alot so cant complain to much. Spiderwebs in all corners of the ceiling, and little gravel on the carpet cause the sliding doors lead right out to the parking lot which I'm not complaining about...that was a happy bonus. The pool was ok...the kids had a great time on the twisting water slide, again though,,,deck as mostley carpeted and stinky...the deep end nd shallow end was not bouyed off, and when i asked for them to put one in, Nope...they dont have one. One little youngster got a mouth full of water and PUked his guts out into the pool...Manager just skimmed the floaters out and told us we could go back in the pool...I guess the barf that sunk to the bottom was'nt a concern. Needless to say we split..Mean time I had 2 chairs delivered to the room. The delivered chairs were the old wooden type and covered in dust/dirt. I had to put them in the bath tub to clean them off and the washcloth was black by time I as done.. Did have a good little fridge in the room, so the kids were happy...and they supplied me with the extra pillows I requested....Checkout was another shocking, slap bestowed on me. All charged on to my Visa and ready to go...the owner told me we would have to wait till he or a staff could go check out the room and count the towels and pillows. Seriously, apparently this is policy...talk about making the customer feel wanted and appreciated...He told me dont matter, Credit card, Debit card, Travlers cheques, or cash....all get counted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEFFERLAW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rooms and corridors very outdated. exterior door-access to parking lot very difficult to open...off track...noisy traffic. Bedside lamps did not work, coffee pot took 1/2hr to fill.
Pool and hot tub were awesome, staff very friendly and helpful
Bathroom very dated, no plug for tub, finish peeling from soap shelves

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga

Address: 1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.