We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 King Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 2K8, Canada (Formerly Delta Kitchener-Waterloo) (City Commercial Core)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to St. Mary's hospital. The entire hotel is very nicely decorated and colourful. Room was small and bathroom was tiny. We had a room facing Benton St with great big windows. The windows are drafty and there was a fair bit of traffic noise.
The breakfast buffet was fair but reasonably priced in a room package. Staff were friendly and helpful at the front desk and in the restaurant/lounge.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear SKKF,

Thank you for posting a review about your last stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We are always looking for guest feedback so that we can continuously improve ourselves to meet the changing needs of all our guests.

I am happy that you enjoyed our new renovations and that you also enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest on your next trip to the Kitchener area.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
8
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel 4 times between July and November 2014.

Pros: Newly remodeled (in fact, still under construction). Stylish and high-quality materials. Covered parking. Easy walk to several restaurants. Friendly staff.

Cons: Small bathrooms -- no counter space, small shower stall. Poor quality control on the new construction. Every room had measurement marks on the bathroom tile. Two of the rooms had broken tiles on the floor. The doors in 3 of the 4 rooms I had were sticky, one so bad I had to use both hands to open it; the door at the side exit of the hotel is also sticky. No USB charge plug -- even the nearby older Hampton Inn has 4 at the nightstand in every room. Long winding, hallways. Not easy to get to the parking garage. Breakfast is expensive (small orange juice, one piece of toast, small plate of fruit was $20, plus tip). Newspapers only in front lobby, not near parking exit.

Room Tip: The single-bed King rooms have shower stalls, while the two-bed rooms have a tub shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear HungryGreg,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We always appreciate our guest's feedback and I have already forwarded your comments about the sticky doors and tiles to our Maintenance Team.

We have since opened up the access closest to the parking lot so that our guests do not have such a long walk from the parking garage to the main entrance. Along with that, we have also opened our new Aqua Lounge Restaurant and I hope that on your next visit to Kitchener that you will stay with us again and come in to enjoy our fresh new menu.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visit Kitchener about three times a year and this is my first time staying at
the crown plaza. The interior of the hotel and decor is beautiful. The rooms were modern and very cozy. All amenities are provided. The front desk agents are very helpful.

The negative - the heaters go off and on the whole night. Making it hard to sleep with the
constant switch sound.

- After I took a shower, the water did not drain. I thought it would drain by the morning so I could take a shower again. But it didn't, it was still flooded.


Overall, I was dissappointed with my experience.

Room Tip: Check the bathtub and make sure it drains or else you can use it only ONCE
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ken T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We are happy that you liked our new renovations and that you found our staff to be helpful.

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay in regards to the shower and the heating unit in your room. I have already spoken to the appropriate department managers in regards to your comments and we will be following up with our staff to ensure that this does not happen again to another guest.

I also apologize that we weren't able to make your stay a satisfying one as that is what we constantly strive for. We are always looking for feedback from our guests to find areas of improvement and we appreciate your honesty.

I do hope that on your next visit to Kitchener that you will choose to give our hotel another try so that we can show you what excellent service is and make sure that you have a wonderful stay.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Very nice sleek newly renovated property. Was formerly Delta Kitchener. Great downtown location. Restaurant and bar not open yet as of November 15, but looks very close to ready and looks fabulous! Beds SUPER comfortable! Rooms on exterior were a little loud but not terribly disruptive. Leisure area in basement feels very dingy and could use an update. My teens were not comfortable being down there for any length of time. Bathroom is very small with no counter space. Vessel sinks are nice but simply not practical. Mirror over dresser is small but there is nice make up / vanity mirror in the dresser drawer.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Wendy W,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have now opened up our new restaurant Aqua Lounge and Restaurant and I'm sure you will be amazed at what we have done with the space. Our Executive Chef and his team have created an excellent new menu and we are very excited about it.

We will be renovating and updating the bowling and mini putt area in the near future and i apologize if your kids did not feel comfortable down there by themselves.

We look forward to your next visit to Kitchener and choosing to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Usually stayed here when in KW when it was a Delta and it was getting a bit stale. Was going to book the new Delta but decided to go back here. The hotel looks fantastic. My room in the tower was great, everything new. Will go back again. Glad to see Botanica restaurant was open for breakfast, the buffet was good - fresh pastries were nice touch too.

Room Tip: Get breakfast at BOTANICA
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Assistant Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Jamie V,

Thank you for your glowing 5 star review for the Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo following your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you chose to return after our re-branding to the Crowne Plaza family and enjoyed the multimillion dollar renovation project that has taken place. In the coming weeks we will open our brand new restaurant Aqua which will offer an extensive new menu as well as the breakfast buffet.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Jenna
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel with our hockey team and families. The hotel was very nice and the staff we're mostly very nice. The rooms were nice and comfortable. They were very helpful in planning a lunch buffet. A nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Domesticdiva_8,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thought our renovations were lovely.

We look forward to hosting your family and hockey tournament in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament and the hotel was newly renovated and up-to-date. Rooms were very nicely decorated and included a fridge and microwave which was very helpful to warm up meals in order to save on money. The bathrooms were also newly renovated and looked awesome except that it was very small and you could barely have two people in there. They also had a mini-putt, hot-tub, pool, ping pong and arcade which kept the boys busy. They have a restaurant and bar attached although we didn't eat there but heard from other parents that the food was very good. Our room was on the second floor and we faced a busy street and unfortunately heard the traffic and noises all night long.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 215 and if you want a peaceful night sleep do not get a room facing the busy stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyD442, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Shelley L,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Kitchener Waterloo. We appreciate and welcome all feedback from our guests as that is the only way that we can improve on anything that our guests feel is important for a good night stay.

We are happy that you enjoyed our facilities in the hotel and that your family enjoyed themselves. We have since opened up our new restaurant Aqua Lounge and Restaurant and we have a brand new menu. On your next visit, I would encourage you to have a meal and experience our new menu and look.

We look forward to your next visit to Kitchener and staying with us again,

Warm Regards,

Lucy Domingos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo

Address: 105 King Street East, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 2K8, Canada (Formerly Delta Kitchener-Waterloo)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener > City Commercial Core
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo is Kitchener's largest and premier full service hotel. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Kitchener, the Crowe Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo is the jewel of downtown, providing upscale accommodations and meetings/conference facilities. With a multi-million dollar renovation completed each guest room is a brand new room, offering our guest a luxurious stay. The Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo boasts 201 modernly designed guestrooms, 17 000 square feet of meeting/function space, onsite restaurant and lounge, indoor swimming pool, full fitness and recreation centre including two bowling lanes and mini putt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Kitchener-Waterloo Hotel Kitchener
Delta Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Delta Hotel
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.