We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kitchener

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kitchener to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kitchener
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Fairway Rd S, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 2N2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Lions Head
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had dinner here with five members of our family and found it to be great. The waiter was fun, and we kidded around with him about the food etc., as he was new, and had not tried some of our appetizers. All were very good. We stay here a couple times a year and find the location perfect and the rooms satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jean519,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Kitchener - Waterloo. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience in Embers and thank you for being such a loyal guest. Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we will be sure to share it with the staff!

Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to submit a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    41
    26
    17
See reviews for
46
25
10
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Firstly, I was staying in the back of the hotel, which I'm told is the older part. So maybe if you stay in another section your experience might be better.
Good things: the lounge I was really impressed with. Fireplace and tvs. Comfy chairs, nice bar. The gym was one of the best hotel gyms I've ever seen. Free weights, machines and a universal gym.
Bad: no sanitizing spray for in the gym!!! Gross!! Not even wipes. The yoga balls need air. Rooms don't have fridge or microwave. You have to pay $15 for it and it's first come. My bathroom was very dated and mold in shower. Breakfast isn't included.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in front of hotel not the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Trxyt,
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Kitchener – Waterloo.
I’d like to thank you for your feedback on your experience, as feedback is the only way we can learn about what we are doing well and what we can improve on. I will be taking your comments to the General Manager and we will see about implementing some of the items in your comment.
We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and the atmosphere of the lounge!
Please let me know if you would like to discuss anything about your stay further by contacting me at cfullerton@fortisproperties.com.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great Hotel! The staff go the extra mile to make you feel at home. The business class room I stayed in was comfortable, spacious and very clean. The breakfast buffet in the morning was wonderful! There was lots of options to chose from - bacon and eggs,french toast, cereal or fruit. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Lange83,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Kitchener - Waterloo! We really appreciate all of your kind words and are glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet, we like it too!
Thank you again for staying and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were in Kitchener for a curling bonspiel. As it happened that was the most inexpensive part of the whole adventure. We had pre-booked the room so the initial price was no surprise. But the quality of the room did not warrant the price. I should have realized when other hotels in town were fully booked and this one was not. Apart from the room and the leaking around the window when it rained the only good thing I could say about it was the heated floor in the bathroom. Unfortunately the dining room (The Embers) was also expensive. The food was better than good but not great. They had a hard time keeping the food for the buffet warm in the morning. Service was excellent with some of the most efficient staff around. Thanks gang. Parking was free with plenty available. Apart from the price an ok visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear David P,

It was very kind of you to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Tripadvisor and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener for your recent stay.

We especially enjoyed reading that the service was excellent. The secret to our success is our commitment and dedication to the daily service we provide; as customer satisfaction is our number one priority.

We have a great team here that always make sure guest expectations are met. Moreover, we are thrilled to know that our team was appreciated and recognized. We’ll pass it on to them.

We sincerely appreciate your business, and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Kitchener. We would love to have you stay with us again, whenever you are in the area. It would be our pleasure to see you again.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a great hotel, fantastic location and superb service. It was my first time in Kitchener on business and this Holiday Inn provided me with a first class experience. As a female traveler I felt very safe here. The business class room was very impressive, comfortable and clean. It featured a larger washroom with lots of counter space.

This hotel understands business travelers and the extra little comforts that are appreciated when traveling often. All staff were friendly and always greeted me with a smile. The front desk agents were helpful with directions, and answered my questions about the area. Another great part of my stay was in the quaint lounge and dining room. The staff are young but provided me with a dining experience I would expect from a seasoned veteran server.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear DWmusttravel,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing this wonderful comment with other Tripadvisor readers.

We pride ourselves on going the extra mile to ensure you had a comfortable and memorable stay. We especially enjoyed reading that you had a first class experience and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

We are truly humbled by your appreciation of all the things our Hotel had to offer. It means a lot to all of us to know your time with us was so enjoyable.

We thank you DWmusttravel, your review was a joy to read.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komoka, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel 3 weeks in advance for Oktoberfest this past weekend. Called the hotel around 11:30AM so see if we were able to get check in and they told me my room was not ready and said to try back later. When I called back a little over an hour later I was transferred to the Manager who told me there was a problem with some of the room and I was being moved to the Holiday Inn Waterloo. When I asked why I was not told the first time i called he told me they never checked just told me the room wasnt ready. Completely unacceptable I booked a room in Kitchener for a reason. When I asked how I was supposed to get to Kitchener for the event I was attending I was told there would be shuttle both ways. Of course, I only received shuttle one way and they did not pay for my cab as they said they would. I would NEVER, EVER book a room here again, they have the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere but here!!!
Thank goodness for the kind and helpful staff at the Waterloo Holiday Inn who were very apologetic even though it was not their fault at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Good Day ljs019,

I would like to send you a personal thank you for the comments you gave us on Tripadvisor. I am very disappointed that your experience was not up to our standards.

I would like to take some time and discuss your individual experience in more detail with you. Please contact me either by e-mail at najikotob@fortisproperties.com or by telephone at (519) 894-8526.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good hotel to stay in. Room was clean and comfortable.
The staff were nice. I didn't get to try the breakfast because I left too early each day but the dinner at the restaurant was expensive. I ended up going out of the hotel for dinners each night.
I was excited to try out the pool and hot tub but it was out of service. boo.
Nice place all around though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear coolusername,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other tripadvisor readers. As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel our team is completely committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy a superior level of service during their stay with us. We especially enjoyed reading that you had a comfortable room.

Unfortunately we had to renovate our indoor pool during the summer. However, it is back in service now as well as the Jacuzzi and the sauna. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to try our indoor pool and enjoy the great breakfast selection at Embers Restaurant.

We would love to have you stay with us again, whenever you are in the area. It would be our pleasure to see you again.

Naji Kotob
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kitchener

Address: 30 Fairway Rd S, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kitchener 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kitchener - Waterloo Hotel & Conference Centre, winner of the Reader's Select Diamond Award for five consecutive years, offers you the finest smoke free hotel in the Kitchener area.Corporate guests looking for Kitchener or Waterloo hotels appreciate our location just minutes from Highways 401 & 8. We're close to area manufacturers and 10 km from the Technology Triangle. In Kitchener and Waterloo, our conference centre's 13,000 sq. ft. and 13 meeting rooms are unique. We can handle a board meeting or a major event for 600 guests. Naturally, we have a 24-hour business centre and free high-speed, wireless Internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kitchener Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kitchener Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kitchener, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.