We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kitchener

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Kitchener to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kitchener
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Fairway Rd S, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 2N2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Kitchener
Tecumseh, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Matt, Naji and the rest of the Holiday Inn team are true professionals! A pleasure to work with and take care of all our corporate and personal needs! I would highly recommend staying at Holiday Inn, when in Kitchener-Waterloo area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Colin D

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing this wonderful comment with other Tripadvisor readers. I and Matt are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with the service and hoping to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn in the near future.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    33
    25
    13
See reviews for
37
16
10
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I use Holiday Inns almost exclusively for work and am a Priority Gold Club member. I had booked my reservation for a room with two double beds for a six night stay, six weeks in advance. At reservation time, I asked for early check in, knowing I was travelling a fair distance and needed to be refreshed after arrival in order to attend a late afternoon meeting.

When we arrived, we were told the hotel was full and our room was not ready. When I mentioned that I had asked for an early check in and was a Priority Club member, they just reiterated they were full. When I told them I needed to get refreshed prior to a meeting which coincided with their normal check-in time (4 pm), they offered me a fitness centre card.

Thinking they would have a working shower in the fitness centre, I grabbed the card, then grabbed my stuff and off went to the fitness centre. When I got there, I realized the women's shower was not working and would have to use the exposed pool deck shower. After that realization, I had to go back to the car to get a bathing suit stopping off at the front desk, to mention that they omitted to tell me the inside shower was working!

After freshening up, I then returned to the desk, hoping we could get into our room prior to my meeting, to no avail.

I finally was able to get in my room and they had one king reserved and not two doubles. She kept repeating that they had a King for me, but from my iphone I showed her my confirmation for two doubles. That is when she switched our rooms to what I originally asked for and then was told just to park in front, where I did and go to my room down the hall. Big mistake. I finally reached my room five minutes later, only to see there was a pull-up to the screen door and I could have driven around. Not cool!

After this first day, I thought things would be better, but unfortunately they were not.

I had to phone the Front Desk for a phone book and that took 1 hour to arrive.

Our room was left to the last to be cleaned one day and instead of the housekeeping staff asking us to leave the room for a few minutes, she instead asked what we needed for the room and gave us just that and nothing more.

The hallways were noisy and we heard children running late at night down the halls, several nights in a row.

I found two carpet beetles, one in the hall and one in our room and killed them instantly, however I still managed to get bit and took photos of the bites.

The straw that broke the camel's back was on the morning of checkout I went to get change for a $20 to leave housekeeping a tip (the courteous thing to do!) and front desk didn't have change, so told me to go to the restaurant and the restaurant told me to go to the front desk.

Needless to say, I left chocolate as a tip instead of money.

I will not stay at this hotel again if my travels take me to this area again! It is too bad as the room service, bar service and close amenities were great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Erika L

It was very kind of you to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Tripadvisor and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener for your recent stay. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It is only by hearing guest comments that we can make changes in the way that we do business to improve our service levels in all areas. As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel our team is completely committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy a superior level of service during their visit with us and it is very disappointing when we fail to carry that promise through.

I will address the Housekeeping issue with the Housekeeping manager, moreover, I will investigate the room problem you had with my team and I can assure you that this is not a normal occurrence. Last but not least, I have already spoken to our maintenance manager and the bathroom in the swimming pool area will be fixed tomorrow.

I would like to take some time and discuss your individual experience in more detail with you so that we can take specific steps to improve on the areas that were of concern to you. Please contact me either by e-mail at najikotob@fortisproperties.com or call me at 519 894 8502.
Further, I would like to invite you to give us another opportunity to demonstrate the product and services we are used to providing to our guests. I am very sorry that we were unable to provide this to you a couple of weeks ago.

Thank you again for your feedback. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in making any future reservations for you.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really felt as if they really enjoyed being there as employees. Warm, caring and attention to detail. The rooms were immaculate and warm. From check in to check out it was outstanding!!!!
The beds were very comfortable and even small tasks such as a can of pop were performed with delight, and due to the pop machine being empty, they provided for free. We always stay there as the location is superb. Near everything!

Room Tip: Smile and you shall receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Vitaminemike,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing this wonderful comment with other Tripadvisor readers. Your comments on the cleanliness of our rooms will definitely thrill Grace our Executive Housekeeper. Moreover, we appreciate your compliments regarding the efficiency of check in and check out.

We are also glad to hear that you had a comfortable room and enjoyed our hospitality. Customer satisfaction is our main priority and we are so happy to have you stay with us whenever you are in Kitchener.

Thank you for your loyalty. It would be our pleasure to see you again.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location beside 7/8 Hwy, clean comfortable rooms, excellent hospitality (Tues. night meet greet & libation for priority club members). Check in staff was very accomodating and quickly signed me up to the priority club. A little pricey for a business man on the road, but good value for money.

Room Tip: only stayed once and single with a king bed is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Dennis C

Thank you for your generous complements on your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Kitchener. As you mentioned we are ideally situated in a great residential and commercial area, so we are fortunate in that respect with our location.

We are also glad to hear that you had a comfortable room and enjoyed our hospitality. We have a great team here that always make sure guest expectations are met.

We thank you for your gracious comments and review. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for several nights. Was out of the hotel all day and well into the evening, so did not use any of the facilities except for a late room service meal the first night, and one quick swim in the small indoor pool. I had a room at the rear of the hotel, which was a hike when I arrived but proved very convenient once I figured out that I could park close to the room and use a rear entrance into the hotel, thus bypassing the lobby etc. In warmer weather I'd have made use of the fact that the room had a large sliding glass door permitting exit directly to the parking lot - not scenic but quite practical in some circumstances e.g. unloading luggage.

The room was serviceable: a bit dated,as others have mentioned, but it was fine for my purposes and in line with my expectations for the type of hotel etc. No complaints there.

I noticed, but did not use, a laundry room towards the back of the hotel - would be useful for longer stays or families.

All staff with whom I dealt were very helpful, whether it was delivering my meal, finding a map for me, telling me about nearby shops and restaurants, or even apologising because the bar was closed. As well, I checked out in a hurry and left them too much money, having forgotten that I'd pre-paid one night, but the person on duty realised what had happened and rang me immediately so that I could return and collect the excess.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear J P,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing this wonderful comment with other Tripadvisor readers. We are thrilled to hear good compliments about our service oriented staff and their honesty. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile to ensure you had a memorable stay. The secret to our success is our commitment and dedication to the daily service we provide; as customer satisfaction is our number one priority.

All the rooms in the wing do have a direct access to the parking lot; therefore, guests can park their car as close as possible to their rooms after checking in. Moreover, we do have a laundry room that can be used anytime during the day.

We sincerely appreciate your business, and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Kitchener. We would love to have you stay with us again, whenever you are in the area. It would be our pleasure to see you again.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel has a very nice lobby and restaurant/bar. While the rooms are a bit dated, they are clean. The shower has so much pressure that I wasn't able to face it, and the water temperature varried at times becoming boiling hot. If you like a hard bed, you will like this hotel. The gym and pool are nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower instead of the wing, this will avoid you walking long long hallways to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear JulieTD

It was very kind of you to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all your compliments about the restaurant/Lobby and the cleanliness of the room. As you mentioned we do have a very nice swimming and a renovated fitness center as well.

We do have 3 different room types (Standard in the wing, Business and executive rooms in the tower). Please contact me either by e-mail at najikotob@fortisproperties.com or by telephone at (519) 894-8502 before your next visit and I will be more than happy to upgrade you to a tower room.

We want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener for your recent stay with us and hope to see you again.

Naji Kotob
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here with my son for one night prior to my son having day surgery at the local hospital. The hotel and rooms were nice including heated floors in the bathroom. The part of the experience that set apart was the service. The service was excellent from the time we checked in until we left early the next morning. Over all a very good experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear annrcg,

Thank you for your generous complements on your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Kitchener. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed the excellent service and had a very good experience overall. As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel our team is completely committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy a superior level of service during their stay with us.

We thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener, We would love to have you stay with us again.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kitchener

Address: 30 Fairway Rd S, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kitchener 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kitchener - Waterloo Hotel & Conference Centre, winner of the Reader's Select Diamond Award for five consecutive years, offers you the finest smoke free hotel in the Kitchener area.Corporate guests looking for Kitchener or Waterloo hotels appreciate our location just minutes from Highways 401 & 8. We're close to area manufacturers and 10 km from the Technology Triangle. In Kitchener and Waterloo, our conference centre's 13,000 sq. ft. and 13 meeting rooms are unique. We can handle a board meeting or a major event for 600 guests. Naturally, we have a 24-hour business centre and free high-speed, wireless Internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kitchener Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kitchener Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kitchener, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.