We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids loved the pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kitchener

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Kitchener to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Kitchener
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Fairway Rd S, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 2N2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The kids loved the pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stay at Holiday Inn everywhere I go. I know what to expect, and I'm never disappointed. I like the fact that there's an indoor and outdoor pool at this location. Our patio door opened up to the outside pool area, which my son loved. The pool was very clean. Obviously well maintained. We ordered room service one morning and the service was quick, breakfast was warm and delicious, the portion was generous.

Beds were comfortable, room was clean and spacious. It's priced right. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    41
    26
    17
See reviews for
46
25
10
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Aftern being given the run-around with lost reservation information at another hotel (Best Western London - Terrible) we called around and were able to grab the last room at this hotel for the night. "Julia" at the desk was great - knowing that we were in the midst of getting a 4 year old back into the car for a 40minute drive she cut through all the red-tape of reservations and gave us a confimation code of "Julia" when we arrived. When we got there she was great - knowing exactly who we were as we trudged through the door.

We got a tower room which was clean and very comfortable. I still can't undersand the point of having large TVs with no HD though - something not just done by this hotel.

The only down side was the elevator was closed for service in the morning which made for an interesting trek down several flights of emergency stairs.

All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel is not well maintained. The sliding glass doors barely opened. The staff had a bad attitude and I will never stay there again. Do your self a favor stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

First of all, high praise for the rooms in the tower. They are big and comfrotable and have nice sized flat screen TV's. The restarant is good and relatively reasonable. My only complaint was the service. Long lines at the front desk, and not a lot of enthusiasm to assist you. Our hockey team was promised a party room for gathering and for some reason, they had no idea at the desk how to handle this. Eventually they just gave up rather than trying to accommodate. I got the sense that the front desk forgot that while we might be parents travelling with kids on the weekend, many of us travel for business during the week and expect that kind of service, regardless of when we stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This was the third time I have stayed in Kitchener. Previously I have stayed at the Knight's Inn and the Walper Terrace. I have to say that even though this hotel is ranked below the other two on TripAdvisor, this hotel was the best by far! I still think that it is expensive for what you get, but after staying in the other two places (to which I will never return) I was happy to pay more.

This isn't a fancy hotel by any means, but the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff helpful, and the the hotel is in a reasonable area of the city. We asked for a hospitality room at about 10:30 at night and the staff were quick to find a room and get it ready so we could have a get-together there rather than in our rooms.

I stayed with a hockey team, so we were (understandably) given the older section of the hotel, but the only complaint I can give was that the water temperature in the shower seemd to fluctuate depending on what everyone else was doing in the hotel. And since everyone was getting ready at the same time, the temp was up and down a lot.

Other than that, I would say we had an enjoyable stay. As I mentioned, if you have stayed in some of the other places in Kitchener you would see that this place is actually pretty good. I have concluded that you should not expect large city standards in this town by any means.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Usually you think that a chain has similar standards across the chain. As a very frequent Hoilday Inn guest, I assumed that as well. However, this HI is basically a motel that they added a conference centre and tower to. Now, honestly I didn't see the conference rooms or the hotel rooms in the tower. I was given a room on the main floor about 6 minutes walking away from the front desk; in the words of the insolent, incompetent Front Desk staff "the best way to get there is to get back in your car." If only I had gotten in my car and driven to another hotel (there are a few others on the same street)... I asked for any other type of room (especially considering my Gold status) and was told the hotel was completely full. I check later on that night and found lots of rooms available in the hotel - even better rooms at the same rate. Clearly, he was too busy trying to leave to check for me. (Also, the entire time he was checking me in he was holding his bag and a half-empty bottle of wine. Clearly he had better things to do than look after guests.)

The room was very dated including an ancient tv and the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. The only thing that it had going for it was the fact that it was very clean. Great job cleaning staff! There was even a sliding door out to a parking lot.

At check-in I had asked the front desk boy if the restaurant was still serving food because I was starving. He said yes. I literally jogged to my room to drop off my luggage and jogged back to the bar. Upon arrival at the bar (10 minutes later - that's how far away the room was) I was told by the servers that they stopped serving food already. Thanks for the lies front desk boy. Eventually I persuaded the staff to ask the kitchen if there was anything they could do for me (after they tried to offer me some pretzels). Finally the cook came out and (bless him) said he could make me a salad. Excellent. The salad was fine and did the trick. Thank you cook.

I'm sure you can find a number of better hotels at the same or better prices that will live up to your reasonable expectations. This one did not.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

For many years I have stayed at the Holiday Inn, Kitchener when attending recurring business functions in this hotel. Unfortunately, I have noticed much deterioration in amenities and service during some more recent stays, including my last stay at the end of October 2010. I always stay in a tower room. The room is clean and acceptably appointed, although the window does not open and the a/c is somewhat noisy, even when left only on vent/fan, as was needed during this "shoulder season".

What rankled me most about this most recent stay was the lack of delivery of a morning newspaper to the room. Every other hotel that I stay at, including other Holiday Inns, provide a complimentary morning newspaper at ones room door. I enjoy a few quiet minutes early in the morning, with the (usually tolerable--but, hey, its hot!) in-room coffee and my newspaper. Yet, at this last stay, by 6:40 a.m., there was no paper. I phoned the desk and asked about it, and was told they do not offer that anymore. Fine, but could someone bring a paper up to me now? Get this: I was told "no", everyone was too busy and it could only be done after 7:00 a.m. (by then I am out of the shower and heading for breakfast). When I remarked upon the so-called Holiday Inn "hospitality promise" to offer satisfaction, well, that got me nowhere. Ultimately a paper was dropped at my room, too late for me to read it. The next day, due to my makiing a fuss, I got one--but one should not have to make a fuss to get something so basic, which most hotels, at least those of this class and higher, automatically provide.

Dining room: whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner, there is very, very slow service. On the stay prior to this it took about 45 minutes to get a club sandwich and fries; this stay, it took over 30 minutes to get the "best for breakfast" bacon and eggs, and a work colleague also waited a long time for oatmeal--really, half an hour for porridge! There were not that many people eating breakfast that morning, but the two waitresses clearly were untrained and clueless. Once the meal arrived it was fine, but ketchup was not brought, milk for porridge was forgotten, etc., etc. How many times does one have to tell a server to do her job? I am not paid to train their staff.

Happily, there are two nice eateries close by: Milton's across the parking lot is good, cheap and cheerful, and the fancy steak house across the road at the Ramada offers quality and value, albeit for a price (one gets what one pays for, which is fair to me).

For regular (Priority club) guests the hotel used to have a Wednesday night wine and snack reception--for those of us on the road it was a nice break from routine and allowed some socializing in a controlled (safe) environment. Alas, some time ago this was done away with and one only gets drink coupons on Wednesdays, so the comaraderie with fellow travelers that used to be gained is no longer available.

Overall, this hotel cries out for a swat team from senior management to stop the coasting, whip everyone back into shape, and to restore some lost amenities. At present ,while I stay there for business reasons, I can not recommend it .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kitchener

Address: 30 Fairway Rd S, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kitchener 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kitchener - Waterloo Hotel & Conference Centre, winner of the Reader's Select Diamond Award for five consecutive years, offers you the finest smoke free hotel in the Kitchener area.Corporate guests looking for Kitchener or Waterloo hotels appreciate our location just minutes from Highways 401 & 8. We're close to area manufacturers and 10 km from the Technology Triangle. In Kitchener and Waterloo, our conference centre's 13,000 sq. ft. and 13 meeting rooms are unique. We can handle a board meeting or a major event for 600 guests. Naturally, we have a 24-hour business centre and free high-speed, wireless Internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kitchener Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kitchener Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kitchener, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.