We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside

Fireside
800 Ottawa Street South, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
(519)581-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 456 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

mediocre food at a normal price, extremly large serving. ehhh.. good staff, just not a very impressive menu or flavour. you know, oversized frozen fries dominating the plate.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    17
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Service better than the food... :( That doesn't happen very often!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Good: Pete must have been the most enthusiastic server that I have ever had (in a pleasant way). Unfortunately, he needs to find a nicer restaurant to work with that would match the food with his efforts. The vanilla milkshake was the best thing about the meal...

The Bad: Well the food... We do pay for the sides, so make them edible. I had the rainbow trout special which wasn't that special (though they didn't muck up the fish with sauce (on the side)). The rice was horrible mushy and crunchy at the same time as if they had mixed two different batches together. Vegetables are cooked... no flavour with a "why bother?" attitude. The soup that came with the meal (came at virtually the same time as the entree?) was overly salty (Beef barley)... as if the same soup had been cooking on the stove top for the entire day.

The Ugly: Washrooms :( ohhhhhhhh ick.... It is enough to make you throw up the food... Health inspectors should go into the washrooms first and if it is disgusting then just shut the place down before they even deal with the kitchen and dining room... I'm assuming that the employees use the same washrooms and if it is that disgusting in there then I can't imagine handwashing and kitchen to be clean either... There just isn't any way for that to be possible...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KW
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Filthy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Food Board should shut this place down. Always Filthy. The menus are terrible and the tables are always greasy.

Not a good spot. Bring back Krispy Kreme

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Huge portions, OK taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First time visitor to this popular breakfast and lunch restaurant. Not very crowded on a Tuesday morning at 8:30, so service was quick. Had the Mediterranean Omelette which was good. It came with a massive amount of home fries which were average, brown toast, a little bowl of baked beans and two slices of orange that were mostly peel. I'll probably be back with a group, but big servings aren't a selling point for me. Another person in the group highly recommends this place for smoked meats at lunchtime.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Finally made it in here after seeing constant lineups and I couldn't believe how bad it was. The eggs Benedict were the worst I have ever had. Coffee was watered down. For the hype, I was really disappointed. Service was friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Fireside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.