We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to the hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside

Fireside
800 Ottawa Street South, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
(519)581-1200
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 440 Restaurants in Kitchener
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Did not live up to the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lineups out the door for breakfast routinely and I hadn't had a chance to go. Finally did. Was I ever let down. It's hard to mess up breakfast - but they did. Eggs Benedict were terrible - egg was hard, packaged, very little and disgusting hollandaise sauce. The house special breakfast was no more than average. The chocolate chip pancakes my son had were ok....mind you served with packaged syrup you usually see at the golden arches. Sure this place obviously appeals to some people. But for us it's not worth our time and will not give a second chance. To mess up breakfast of all things...well if you can't do the basics well then I expect little else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    15
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unbelievable !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Go early to get a seat. My friend and I went there for supper and were we pleasantly surprised. He ordered a club sandwich that over filled the plate plus it came with plenty of fries and coleslaw. He said it was really good. I ordered the JUMBO smoked meat platter. This sandwich was humongous. The meat was piled so high I couldn't get my mouth around it. It came with an enormous plate of fries and a gigantic bowl of coleslaw. Including a tip and soft drinks it cost a total of $35.00 for both of us. The service was excellent, our waitress was awesome. Lots of parking too. They gave me a container so I could take home half my sandwich...nice touch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“BIG breakfast at a very reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

we stop in here for breakfast frequently. the breakfast special includes 2 eggs, any style, bacon, ham or sausage, home fries and beans for $3.99. Serving sizes are more than most people can eat. Service is very good and waitresses are always pleasant.
If you stop for lunch and you're with someone else, consider the smoked meat sandwich deal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lousy and Filth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Whats with the Menu's......... I did not want to touch mine............. This restaurant has gone down hill quickly............... Its like Zeke's........... Filthy Dirty.

Don't waste your money

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Always good food, clean place, and great service! Great for breakfast or dinner!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Fireside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.