We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Motor Inn Marathon

Airport Motor Inn Marathon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Airport Motor Inn Marathon to your Saves list
Airport Motor Inn Marathon
Trans-Canada Highway 17 & Peninsula Road | PO Box 700, Marathon, Ontario P0T 2E0, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Marathon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marathon
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times over the years with work. They've just changed their name to 'Airport Motor Inn', so it's no longer a Travelodge. I had a king bed in the newer section, $119.00 per night. Room was clean and comfortable (the mattress is very good). In the bathroom, limited foot space in the one piece tub/shower when taking a shower (due to 'peanut' shaped tub sides). There are no pool or exercise faclities at this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I will try the Harbour Inn in town next time to compare.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    23
    14
    19
See reviews for
25
19
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although we have stayed here several times in the past (5-6), I think this latest stay will be our last. The best thing about this lodge is the staff. The front desk lady was extremely friendly and helpful during our check in. However, that's where the good experience ended. The rooms are getting very old and dated.

Even though we booked a non-smoking room we had to walk through a hallway where it was clear by the smell that there were smoking rooms in the same area. We stopped smoking in offices in the 80's, we stopped smoking in restauraunts in the 90's, and we stopped smoking in bars in the early 2000's. Why do owners of hotels still allow smoking at all indoors? C'mon Travelodge Marathon - get with the times!

The continental breakfast was average at best.

Room Tip: You would be better served by smaller, less expensive private motels an hour down the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were very pleased with the service we received upon check in. We are on a long trip across Canada and are finding it necessary to stay at many different places.
We had booked our room early in the morning, and when we arrived we greeted by a very friendly manager/owner. We are traveling with two dogs so sometimes the room choices are not the best rooms, but we understand. When we got to our room it had only one bed and a little cramped. The cleaning lady was in the hall and we asked to see a room with two beds. She showed us and called the front desk to change our room. There was no microwave so the staff brought us one, the manager met me halfway down the hall with the new keys. The free continental breakfast was a treat.
Thank you

Room Tip: The newer portion of the building has real nice rooms, but if you are a smoker or have pets, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Ok seriously there was pubic hair in the shower! What are your cleaning people blind? We asked for smoking and granted its gonna have an odour but what are you hiding a 3pack a day chain smoker in the closet? Gross! almost better to smoke outside in -15 weather and avoid the smell of the room! Hope I never HAVE to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinte West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelling across Canada is an adventure, and Marathon is a hard days drive from Toronto or Winnipeg. The Travelodge is a welcome site when your tired and it looks great from the outside.
The Travelodge is the old motel and new motel connected together. We were travelling with a miniture bunny in a cage, so the clerk insisted that we stay in a "pet friendly" unit in the old part dispite my protest. This unit was tiny, cramped, smelly and had a space heater as the only heat. We suffered with this unit for about 20 minutes then I went back to the desk and got a room with heat in the newer part, no questions about pets (go figure).

This place is the pretty much it for Marathon so you have to grin and bare it. They also wanted $20 for a "cleaning fee" that would have put the bill at $150 so I negotiated hard and ended up at $132 for a dismal room with slimy water.

There is a "continental breakfast" included that was OK, and is served early.

Room Tip: 200 are newer building, 100 are the old part and not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Motor Inn Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motor Inn Marathon

Address: Trans-Canada Highway 17 & Peninsula Road | PO Box 700, Marathon, Ontario P0T 2E0, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Marathon)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Marathon
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the North Shore of Lake Superior and surrounded by incredible parkland, Marathon’s trademark is “Quality of Life”. Just minutes from Marathon’s Airport, and located on the Trans-Canada Highway, the Airport Motor Inn is the newest hotel in this wonderful destination. Featuring an inviting lobby, helpful staff and comfortable guestrooms, this Marathon hotel offers a warm welcome and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Airport Motor Inn Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Marathon Hotel Marathon
Travel Lodge Marathon
Marathon Travelodge
Marathon Travel Lodge
Airport Motor Inn Marathon Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Motor Inn Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.