We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Explorers Cafe

The Explorers Cafe
345 King Street, Midland, Ontario, Canada
+1 705-527-9199
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Midland
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: If arriving by foot, we are on the east side of King between Yonge and Elizabeth. If driving, approach from Midland Ave. between Yonge and Elizabeth, free three hour parking in municipal lot.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“Culinary adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very specific place with inventive dishes and varied menu from different part of the world. Some taste compositions are fabulous and amazing. The products and ingredients seemed to be very natural and good quality and wine list reasonable composed. The waitress was very friendly and we had excellent lunch at reasonable price. The restaurant is located in the backyard at the main street of Midland. It`s worth to find this venue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    48
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridderkerk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth to look for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Behind the shops we found the restaurant but is was worth searching for it.
Cozy interior, excellent food.
Attentive waiters.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awful soup, no coffee machine!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Explorers has been a consistently good spot for dinner for many years. But our last visit was disappointing. The soup of roasted peppers and basil tasted like wallpaper paste and I had to send it back. They didn't charge me. But to add insult to injury, the coffee machine was broken and had been for several weeks. So, no specialty coffees, just the drip de-caf and full-caf...like a donut shop. Too bad. We expected more. Why can't they fix the machine or buy another? 'They're very expensive' we were told. Well, don't expect us back very soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Explore the Menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Midland Main Street is in decline, but The Explorer's Cafe is hopping! All the tables were full on a Tuesday night and with good reason!
Their dishes are inspired by many world cuisines, but sourced locally.
My daughter ate the potstickers and the Singapore noodle main course. Opted for two appetizers and had Tandoori chicken salad and then mussels. All very tasty. My only slight criticism would be that the chicken was slightly overlooked and the salad was a tad overdressed.
There is a very extensive wine list.
Service was prompt, pleasant and attentive, although we did have to request refills of our water.
All in all, a great find in a small town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best in Midland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We sampled several restaurants during a recent visit to Midland and without doubt The Explorers Café is the best. A charming travel-oriented atmosphere with excellent service, a good wine list and really tasty food including much that is locally sourced. It's always a pleasure to stay or dine at an establishment where it is obvious the hosts/owners truly care about the experience they provide their guests. The Explorers Café does that very well. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Explorers Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Explorers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Explorers Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.