We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Midland Ontario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Midland Ontario to your Saves list
Super 8 Midland Ontario
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1144 Hugel Avenue, Midland, Ontario L4R 0B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We went on a randomly decided road trip, and by process of dart-shooting elimination, we were heading to Penetanguishene. This hotel was in the perfect location - legitimately 5 mins down the street, and we were at the Penetang docks. About 10 mins away was the Discovery Harbour... 10 mins the other way was the Martyrs Shine and Saint Marie Among the Hurons. Perfect. If you needed quick groceries, there is a Superstore and Giant Tiger in the vicinity. Otherwise, local restaurants were great options in Penetang and Midland. The hotel was clean, quiet... decent breakfast: waffles, eggs, cereal, muffins, yogurt, etc... and the staff were SUPER friendly! Great price; great value!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland Ontario, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
I could not have said it better myself, so I won't even try. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay and for letting the world know just a few of the things that I think make the Super 8 Midland a great choice for your visit to the Midland, Penetanguishene area. It is great to know that serendipity led you to us and that through the randomness of a dart throw you ended up here. It is also great to know that we were part of making that dart throw a good memory. Should you ever raise wrist and let fly a dart near our location again we will be thrilled to have you back, or if you just want to revisit great memories and make wonderful new ones, please keep us in mind. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    106
    48
    3
    5
See reviews for
115
52
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utila
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because it was nearby a family wedding. The hotel was very nice, rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed killing a few hours here between the wedding and the reception and had a very comfortable night sleep.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland Ontario, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
It is always great to read a review and see words like 'nice', 'friendly' and 'comfortable'. These are all words the I have used myself to describe our hotel but they sound so much better coming from someone who has stayed here as our guest. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and for using such wonderful words. You also have brought up something that very much colours our lives here in the Midland area and at the Super 8 Midland throughout the year, weddings. We are pleased to have wedding groups of all types and sizes stay at our hotel throughout the year, in fact we have a group supervisor who does a wonderful job helping wedding planners, brides, grooms and whoever else may be planing to, make the most of the accommodation side of their special day. Thanks again for your time and hopefully we can see you again either for another festive event, for business or just for a holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a fairly new build motel, and everything is in top shape. It has a pool and an exercise room and it provides a serve-yourself breakfast.

The motel is located at the edge of Midland near the big-Box stores so it isn't really conveniently located if you are interested in seeing the lakeside area of the town.

The rooms are small, but well appointed. We stayed in a Suite which had a queen bed in a room by itself and a pull-out in a separate area.

The room cost $185 per night (before tax). Although we had been promised a $10 per night rebate with our CAA card, it wasn't applied at check-out which I found irritating. When I mentioned it I was told that it wasn't available because the occupancy rate was at 100%. A lesson that you always need to get things in writing (which is a shame).

This is just another generic motel, interchangeable with any other, clean and fairly comfortable, but in my opinion, overpriced.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland Ontario, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
It is unfortunate that you have found our hotel to be overpriced, but thank you for taking the time to write and let us know how you feel. I can only assure you that our rates are competitive with other hotels in the area and apologize that the you did not feel you got your money's worth. The rate you mention is for a room on a Saturday in the middle of summer, the busiest day in the busiest part of the year. Thank you again for taking the time to write and thank you very much for the nice things you had to say about your experience, we do hope you will come back and give us another chance to change your mind about the value we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wikwemikong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, in the junior suite. The place was average, nothing spectacular, nothing terrible. Staff was friendly, helpful, and the location was nice. The pool is a bit on the small side, but the hot tub was nice. Though the room was very nice and clean, my only complaint was with the temperature control, which was in the bedroom part of the room. The living area of the room remained very hot while the air conditioning only kept the bedroom cool. Would stay here again, as the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland Ontario, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. You have mentioned in your review that you experienced an issue with the air conditioning not travelling between rooms in the Junior Suite. There is in fact a vent controlled by a wall switch that allows air to pass between rooms. Thanks to your review I have discussed with management and whether or not this is apparent to guests in the rooms. We have decided to take action and are looking at putting up signs in order to make certain that a situation like yours does not happen again. Also thank you for the kind words you had about our staff and hotel in general. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and I hope you will come again to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Midland Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Midland Ontario

Address: 1144 Hugel Avenue, Midland, Ontario L4R 0B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Midland Ontario 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Midland Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Midland Ontario
Super Eight Midland
Midland Super Eight
Midland Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Midland Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.