We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Midland Ontario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Midland Ontario to your Saves list
Super 8 Midland Ontario
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1144 Hugel Avenue, Midland, Ontario L4R 0B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

While staying here frequently when i visit my mom, i became very ill this time. The staff were very compassionate and helpful, going the extra mile to help me be as comfortable as possible. I really appreciated this because being sick away from home can be difficult but the atmosphere at this place made me safe and warm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    105
    48
    3
    5
See reviews for
114
52
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We went here with friends (booked about 8 rooms) and many of us had bed bug bites afterwards. I called to let them know and they had fumigators come in and the manger told me the rooms were all clean. I find this hard to believe after many of us, all in different rooms go bitten. I think they are hiding something. Unless you want to sleep with bed bugs.... don't go to the Super 8 in Midland.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsuper8midland, General Manager at Super 8 Midland Ontario, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your response expressing the issues you encountered after your stay at Super 8 Midland. At Super 8 Midland we take great pride in our standards of cleanliness and consider pest control to be a very serious issue and to not take complains lightly. Upon further research and a visit from Orkin Pest Control to thoroughly inspect all the rooms in question, it was determined and I am happy to conclude and report that no evidence of bed bugs or any other pests were found at Super 8 Midland.
We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future. It is our goal to provide the very best to each and every guest.
Yours in hospitality,
Kathryn Laliberte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Not your typical Super 8. The hotel is spotless with a very professional staff. The rooms were modern with every amenity you need.

The breakfast was excellent with a very nice, clean breakfast area.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsuper8midland, General Manager at Super 8 Midland Ontario, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
THANK YOU to all of our previous guests and all your amazing comments!!

We are so happy that you stayed with us and even more thankful for your supporting comments!

We hope to see you all again in the future, and have a SUPER great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Fairly new hotel that is well priced and well appointed. Close to Midland and Penetanguishene, Balm Beach and Tiny Township. Very near several good restaurants (nothing on site but extensive CB is included). Cinema and shopping mall across the street. Five minutes from both tour boat docks. Clean, good staff. lots of parking. 3Star services at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My family spent the night at the Midland Super 8 and we had no complaints. The Front Desk Staff was excellent and was very accommodating when we arrived early to town and allowed us to cheek-in to both of our rooms.

The room my family had had two queen beds, a fridge, a microwave, TV, a window that opens (only slightly) and a working AC. A brand new playpen was provided for our 18 month old to sleep in. The room was well cleaned and the linens looked brand new. The beds were a bit firm but still comfortable.

There is a pool but be forewarned that it is only 3 feet deep and if there are any more than 10 people in the pool it is crowded. There is a small 2 person hot tub too.

The continental breakfast is good. Just get there early as it seems to get very crowded near the end of the serving time. The hotel is located near several fast food restaurants, Tim Horton's is within walking distance and there is a Grocery Store across the road.

I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is clean, has small swimming pool and whirlpool. Convenient location if you would like to explore that part of Georgian Bay.
We stay one night and were surprised to get the breakfast. It was continental breakfast with toast, eggs, pastries, cereal and yogurt; coffee...We like the waffles we prepared for ourselves.
We would recomand this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Super 8 in Midland on August 11, 2011. This was our 4th time staying here. The first three times were great as per the other reviews. The front desk girl at check-in (Charity?) was great, very helpful and welcoming. Maybe we just got a bad room this time. We had a room with 2 queen beds. When I pulled back the covers on the first bed, there were black hairs on the bedsheet, and the same hairs were also in the bathtub. Neither of us has black hair. It was really late so we slept in the other bed, which was fine. I mentioned it to the girl at the front desk when we were checking out the next morning (not so much to complain but just to make the hotel aware because we were disappointed after our very successful previous 3 stays here, and also not because we expected any kind of reimbursement). The girl didn't apologize for the inconvenience or anything like that. She just continued to check us out. It doesn't take much to make a customer feel better about possibly returning! The Super 8 just went down to a 3-star from a 5-star in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsuper8midland, General Manager at Super 8 Midland Ontario, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your comments and bringing this matter to our attention. We were very sad to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory, especially after having other pleasant visits in the past. We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room. At Super 8 Midland, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. We are very sorry we failed you on this visit, and we believe this to be a one time mishap. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your trust in us. Hope to see you soon, and have a Super day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Midland Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Midland Ontario

Address: 1144 Hugel Avenue, Midland, Ontario L4R 0B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Midland Ontario 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Midland Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Midland Ontario
Super Eight Midland
Midland Super Eight
Midland Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Midland Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.