We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean, Simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midland Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Midland Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midland Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Prospect Blvd, Midland, Ontario L4R 4P4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, Clean, Simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Midland Inn is a very good, simple and clean place to stay....Its a small hotel, but it adds to the charm. The hotel is new and very clean! The staff are friendly, and quite helpful compared to other large hotel chains. You won't find a ton of amenities here like a pool etc, but if you are looking for a attractive well priced, clean place to stay, this is certainly it!

Bonus: The complimentary breakfast beats most of the ones at chain hotels, and it's very conveniently located near many stores and restaurants. Some small suggestions to the owner...Have dedicated front desk staff, they can be away from their desk at times to perform other duties.

Also, having toothbrushes and a few other on the go items for sale at the front desk would be very helpful. Otherwise, a great stay, very impressed!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
28
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Made to order breakfast was included during our stay and it was excellent. Customer service was great.

Our only complaint was that one of the rooms ( out of 2) were not cleaned when we checked in. Manager apologized and provided another room. Rooms had all the amenities that you look for when traveling.

Room Tip: Chose rooms on North side. South side rooms face parking lot and can be noisy when window is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland_Inn, Manager at Midland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed breakfast and the amenities we offer. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the room mix up. We will be sure to review this incident and take steps to avoid it in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We travel to Midland each year, and this was our first visit to Midland Inn & Suites - what a pleasant surprise. It's a little off the beaten path, but not enough to be a bother. The staff were so accommodating and friendly. We arrived early and the room was still being cleaned, but our hostess took my cell number and called me as soon as the room was ready. The rooms were clean, spacious and nicely decorated with local art. Breakfast was included in the room price, and yes we were expecting the usual cold cereals and grocery store pastries. Were we ever surprised when we saw it was a hot breakfast with a number of choices - omelets, pancakes, waffles, and fresh coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland_Inn, Owner at Midland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. Our goal is to offer the best accommodations and amenities for our valued guests, to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. Glad to also hear that you enjoyed our breakfast.
We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

HOTEL: We travelled as a family of 2 adults + 2 kids in the summer and had a great stay. According to one staff, the hotel is approx 2 yrs old. I think it opened around 2012 so the newest hotel in Midland so very new, very clean. (and since it is near a police station, I would say very safe if you're concerned about that). Free parking. If you book directly with the hotel's website, you get discounted rate. Free hi speed wifi

ROOM QUALITY: Amazing! Looks like a room of a 4-star hotel. The room is very bright, spacious but refreshing. Beds are very comfortable.

CLEANLINESS: It seems to me that the cleaning staff and concierge are happy with their job and therefore it reflects on the high standard of cleanliness and friendliness of all the staff. It made our trip very comfortable and rejuvenating. Thanks so much everyone.

BREAKFAST: Amazing! Not buffet but big plates! You have a choice of pancakes, eggs (any kind) or omelette (cheese, western, tomato). All breakfast come with BACON, toasts & orange juice. Served 7-9am weekday (not sure what time they serve breakfast during weekend). FREE coffee, cappucino, hot cocoa, tea, hot water 24/7. Suggestion would be to change up the bacon the next day to sausage or ham?

RECOMMENDED PLACES TO VISIT IN MIDLAND & AREA:
1. Discovery Harbour (visit for 3 hours)
2. Sault Sainte Marie on the Hurons (visit for 3 hours)
3. Balm Beach (a local person calls it their own Wasaga Beach but less commercialized)
amazing free beach, very clean, metered parking, water sports available
we also visited Wye Marsh, Castle Village


CONVENIENCE: This hotel is walking distance to Walmart superstore, Boston Pizza.
1 min drive to Sault Saint-Marie on the Hurons
5 min to Cineplex, downtown Midland
10 min to Balm Beach, Discovery habour

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland_Inn, Owner at Midland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. As staff, we do our best to ensure our guests receive the best service and comfort during their visit. We are very pleased to have contributed to your stay. It is also nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of the attractions our town has to offer.
We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is a little out of the way and a great place for snow-mobilers and people who want privacy and peace and quiet. The staff are exceptional and go out of their way to be helpful; many thanks to Roman and, most especially, Lisa. Whatever she is being paid is not enough.
Hopefully, as time goes on, this hotel will start to add some amenities that would really add to it's appeal. They have a great cook for the included breakfast but could add a first class dinner menu to that [the owner owns Mom's-more about that in another review].
It is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. They are a five minute drive from the Martyrs' Shrine and the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland_Inn, Owner at Midland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and received great service in ensuring that your visit was accommodating and comfortable.
We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I agree with all the positive reviews about Midland Inn & Suites provided on Tripadvisor.
Initially booked a 2 night stay and was so impressed and happy with the deluxe 2 queen bed room that after a delicious breakfast on the first morning we added a third night for our visit to Midland/Penetanguishene (husband and I traveled with our 6 and 7 y.o boys)
We were warmly greeted by Lisa at check-in. She was friendly, professional and is a valuable asset to the hospitality industry.
The best way to reach the hotel from HWY 12 is it drive to King St. and turn onto Prospect Ave. If you go on Beamish Rd it's a gravel road with many large potholes.

Room Tip: If you like to keep the window open, request a room facing the parking lot and fields, it's quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland_Inn, Owner at Midland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We strive to offer a variety of amenities and excellent service and we are glad to hear that we have contributed to your comfort and happiness during your stay.
We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful, the service was amazing, breakfast was deliscious. The front desk and chef were very friendly, very nice rooms that were immaculate. Good location close to lots of resturaunts. Will deffinatly stay here again! Recommend it to anyone looking to stay in midland. Also they have beautiful local art displayed all through the hotel which made my stay very homey

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland_Inn, Owner at Midland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Service, comfort and cleanliness are our top priorities and we are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience. We are glad to have contributed to your stay feeling a little like home.
We thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland Inn & Suites

Address: 720 Prospect Blvd, Midland, Ontario L4R 4P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Midland
#3 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midland Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midland Inn & Suites was built in 2012 by local, successful business owners-Louie and Fanny DeSantis-and features comfortably modern decor with a touch of elegance. Our 30 room inn boasts four types of rooms to appease a variety of our guests’ needs; from the local couple looking for a quiet evening out to the extensive traveler, as well as corporate and government accommodations are available. All rooms include a hot breakfast and 24 hour coffee station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Midland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midland Inn & Suites Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midland Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.