We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This hotel was okay when it was first built, but it is showing its age. Room was only fair. Shower head dribbles out the water, and tub wont drain. Chairs in room are so small, only a child could sit in them comfortably. For the price, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on Trip advisor.
We appreciate your comments which help us improve our services.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    74
    52
    31
    10
See reviews for
86
63
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at the Highland in early August. The hotel is fairly clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is located close to the highway and near shopping and restaurants. We stayed in the "Motel" section - which is a separate building away from the main hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. We did have problems with the A/C unit freezing up. They sent the maintenance man but he was un-able to repair it. He suggested that it was having difficulty keeping up with the heat, despite the relatively cool temperatures. I think it had more to to with the unit's age. The whole property is showing it's 40 years.

The breakfast was less then steller and I heard several people complain to staff about the watered-down orange juice. The pool was great, although the hot tub has some "scum" floating on the surface so we didn't go in it (but that might have been from an older lady who had way too much makeup on!) The pool was closed for maintenance the second day - which was a little disappointing for my 8-year old daughter. Over all I would stay again, I payed with reward points and I think I would have been more disappointed if I had to pay the $180/night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
We thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.
Thank you for telling us what you liked and how we can improve and offer a better service.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Midland is a great place for a midweek getaway. We stayed at the Best Western Highland Inn and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We had a comfortable clean king room with a good sized bathroom. The room had what we really want when we're travelling - a bedside table at each side of the bed and two comfortable chairs. Check in was quick, the staff friendly and the breakfast more than adequate. The onsite restaurant, the "Olympia", is excellent.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the indoor pool although we could see the outside to the right. People who suff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us.

The entire team of the Best Western joins me to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor and highlighting the areas you and your family enjoyed during your stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had a great room. Swimming pool was excellent. They take great care of pool and hot tub. All the staff were great, pleasant and helpful, from check in to extra towels as there were 3 of us staying in room. Breakfast was great. Could have used some fresh fruit besides oranges and apples.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay with us.
I am happy to hear that you liked our accommodation and staff but were not satisfied with our Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at this facility for one week while playing in an International Shuffleboard Tournament. The facility is very nice and the rooms are clean and nicely furnished. The staff bends over basckwards to ensure you are comfortable. Although the breakfast was the same for most days however, the food was plentiful and fruits very fresh. We were here with about a 150 individuals and I never heard a complaint. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were meant to dream on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor (lobby floor) since there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,
It is a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this is a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Greatly overpaid for the room we stayed in. Hotel is very old, has not been updated in years. This is the only true hotel in this town, many smaller motels but they seem to book up most of the time because of lack of competition. This lack of competition also means they do not feel the need to renovate, update or staff the hotel properly. Got in the room, the carpet looked dirty, told the kids, leave you shoes on. Bathroom - urine on the toiler seat and pubic hairs in the tub? Great. Called down to the desk to complain, they offered to send up a cleaning staff. For the $175 a night they should have cleaned before we arrived don't you think? Wifi kept cutting out, breakfast was run of the mill, and the decor was very outdated. Never again for this hotel, rather sleep in the car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback on Trip advisor.
We appreciate your comments which help us improve our services.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I usually stay at Best Western properties when I travel, both on business and for leisure. These hotel are generally clean, comfortable and the one in Midland is no exception. It is staffed by friendly, professional employees who go out of their way to ensure your visit is hassle-free.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us.

The entire team of the Best Western joins me to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor and highlighting the areas you and your family enjoyed during your stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier Midland's only full service hotel in the Southern Georgian Bay area. The hotel recently received the prestigious Director's Award from Best Western International. CAA/AAA awarded the Highland Inn a Three-Diamond Rating. The hotel offers 122 recently renovated guest rooms with a variety of suites. Our enclosed Garden Atrium is a tropical garden featuring trees and lush foliage. Here you will enjoy the heated indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Two restaurants on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midland
Midland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre Midland, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.