We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's lots to see in Midland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“There's lots to see in Midland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Midland is a great place for a midweek getaway. We stayed at the Best Western Highland Inn and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We had a comfortable clean king room with a good sized bathroom. The room had what we really want when we're travelling - a bedside table at each side of the bed and two comfortable chairs. Check in was quick, the staff friendly and the breakfast more than adequate. The onsite restaurant, the "Olympia", is excellent.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the indoor pool although we could see the outside to the right. People who suff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us.

The entire team of the Best Western joins me to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor and highlighting the areas you and your family enjoyed during your stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    92
    71
    37
    13
See reviews for
109
74
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had a great room. Swimming pool was excellent. They take great care of pool and hot tub. All the staff were great, pleasant and helpful, from check in to extra towels as there were 3 of us staying in room. Breakfast was great. Could have used some fresh fruit besides oranges and apples.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay with us.
I am happy to hear that you liked our accommodation and staff but were not satisfied with our Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at this facility for one week while playing in an International Shuffleboard Tournament. The facility is very nice and the rooms are clean and nicely furnished. The staff bends over basckwards to ensure you are comfortable. Although the breakfast was the same for most days however, the food was plentiful and fruits very fresh. We were here with about a 150 individuals and I never heard a complaint. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were meant to dream on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor (lobby floor) since there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,
It is a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this is a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Greatly overpaid for the room we stayed in. Hotel is very old, has not been updated in years. This is the only true hotel in this town, many smaller motels but they seem to book up most of the time because of lack of competition. This lack of competition also means they do not feel the need to renovate, update or staff the hotel properly. Got in the room, the carpet looked dirty, told the kids, leave you shoes on. Bathroom - urine on the toiler seat and pubic hairs in the tub? Great. Called down to the desk to complain, they offered to send up a cleaning staff. For the $175 a night they should have cleaned before we arrived don't you think? Wifi kept cutting out, breakfast was run of the mill, and the decor was very outdated. Never again for this hotel, rather sleep in the car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback on Trip advisor.
We appreciate your comments which help us improve our services.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I usually stay at Best Western properties when I travel, both on business and for leisure. These hotel are generally clean, comfortable and the one in Midland is no exception. It is staffed by friendly, professional employees who go out of their way to ensure your visit is hassle-free.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us.

The entire team of the Best Western joins me to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor and highlighting the areas you and your family enjoyed during your stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel starting August 2, 2014 and checked out August 8. The pros: Front desk staff was helpful and friendly, hotel room was clean and all items available (towels, toiletries, etc.), and it was never too noisy. The cons: Breakfast never changed from day-to-day (always the same scrambled eggs, potatoes, breakfast sausage, and selection of cereal and bread). The breakfast staff member who worked the Friday - Saturday - Sunday shift frequently did not refill low/empty items like ketchup, milk, and cereal. One day, even the water was missing! We told her about the empty items and she shrugged us off and did not refill the items. The pool was a little dirty and the pool towels difficult to find (you have to ask at the front desk). Overall, we found our stay satisfactory, but for us to consider returning or recommending this place to fellow travelers, the problems I mentioned above would need to be resolved.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay with us.
I am happy to hear that you liked our accommodation and staff but were not satisfied with our Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Average hotel. Hotel run down but the price reflects that. Breakfast is the same thing every day and only offer snausage....no bacon (we stayed for 4 nights). We stayed in 'annex'...try and get the main hotel if you can. Closer trip to the pool and other amenities

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.
Sorry to hear that you did not like our breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#6 of 8 in Midland
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#1 of 2 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Midland Ontario
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Park Villa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier Midland's only full service hotel in the Southern Georgian Bay area. The hotel recently received the prestigious Director's Award from Best Western International. CAA/AAA awarded the Highland Inn a Three-Diamond Rating. The hotel offers 122 recently renovated guest rooms with a variety of suites. Our enclosed Garden Atrium is a tropical garden featuring trees and lush foliage. Here you will enjoy the heated indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Two restaurants on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midland
Midland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre Midland, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Highland Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.