We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest Pool Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Mount Albert, Canada
1 review
“Warmest Pool Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were very happy with our stay. So much so that we're returning this weekend (and hoping for better weather!). The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the bed was the most comfortable hotel/motel bed we've slept in, the hot breakfast was good, the hotel was very clean, and the pool was so warm! The only issues we had were we were a bit disappointed when we went to the games room to play some pool and everything had been cleared out and closed down, and the televisions are still the old tube tvs with no connections for the computer or apple tv. But these really weren't big issues. Our overall stay was a wonderful experience. We're heading back this weekend and hoping for better weather!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I am delighted to read your comments on your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed review highlighting each and every aspect of the hotel and we are pleased to know that you found it comfortable. Unfortunately the games were taken away as they were not profitable for the vendor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    74
    52
    30
    10
See reviews for
86
63
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Book this hotel kind of last minute during thanksgiving weekend, since it's in the middle between Muskoka and Bruce Peninsula (2 popular vacation places during fall color season), it still had room available. Added bonus is that it's very close to Martyr's Shine, a beautiful place even we are not religious at all. The hot breakfast is nice, fresh orange juice. There's a computer at the main door with printer. Receptionist is nice to indicate that if we walk through the building, my mom doesn't need to claim the stairs. In all, good stay.

Room Tip: I requested a "garden view" room. Some rooms facing the pool will have no privacy unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,

It is a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation and teamwork for all of them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Aziz Abid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western in Midland during a brief visit with family. It met my needs - a place to sleep and have a quick cup of coffee and light breakfast to start the day; and as long as I was headed to bed early, a place to have a night-cap before bed. If you are night-owl you'll have to have your night-cap elsewhere because the lounge will be closed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments on your recent stay.
We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and we met your needs.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Aziz Abid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip with a big group of co-workers. Also brought along my husband and baby for one night- so had a family trip of sorts too.
Hotel was clean. I stayed in a King suite and it was big and comfy.
Olympia Restaurant was expensive and the service was terrible so don't bother with room service. We ended up across the street at Kelseys for the rest of the stay.
The hotel breakfast was a different story- hot and delicious. I enjoyed.
Front desk staff were kind. I didn't get to check out the pool but it looked fun.

Room Tip: stay in the King suite! (some face the pool- so your window view is inside- that is weird. I had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay with us.
I am happy to hear that you liked our accommodation and breakfast but were not satisfied with our Restaurant and the service.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you,
Aziz Abid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have been visiting family in the Midland area for over 18 years. Stayed here many times but haven't in the last 4 years. I was shocked to say the least at how much the hotel had deteriorated. What happened? You use to be able to order your breakfast from a menu. Now it's just a tasteless buffet of hot and cold food. The hot food was horrible. I never once saw a staff member visit the buffet during breakfast to check on anything and there were a lot of people there. A guest went into the kitchen himself, twice to see where the eggs were. The internet never worked, the place was dirty and smelly. The nice restaurant is gone and the hotel manager was not professional. It's a shame as we use to love that hotel. Won't be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip advisor.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our breakfast.
We appreciate your feed-back and comments which help us improve our services.
Thank you and Best Regards,
Aziz Abid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I am working in the area I stay at the hotel the rooms are nice and staff courteous at the front desk..my understanding is the restaurant is not run by the hotel.being a new guest I tried the dinner which was cold and slow to serve there was a man yelling in the back room and when I did get my meal there was something wrong with it I tried to find a server I went to desk the kitchen was disgusting from what I could see.my coworker and I did not eat our meals paid for them and left.we tried the breakfast in the morning which was late and cold .unfortunately we resorted elsewhere for breakfast and dinner I do not suggest anybody to use this restaurant at all the way they treat their servers and guessis unsatisfactory.....just to be clear the hotel is nice customer service was good it's just the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,
I am sorry to hear that you did not like our restaurant nor the breakfast and the food was served cold. However on a positive note you were happy with our accommodation and customer service.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Aziz Abid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

hotel was very clean and great staff. Would stay there again no questions .Reasturant has aGREAT menu t o selct from. stayed for to nights and returned for the 3rd night. Very quite for sleeping at night. Hotel has every thing that you need for travlling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandOn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us.
The entire team of the Best Western joins me to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would very much have the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Yours sincerely,
Aziz Abid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier Midland's only full service hotel in the Southern Georgian Bay area. The hotel recently received the prestigious Director's Award from Best Western International. CAA/AAA awarded the Highland Inn a Three-Diamond Rating. The hotel offers 122 recently renovated guest rooms with a variety of suites. Our enclosed Garden Atrium is a tropical garden featuring trees and lush foliage. Here you will enjoy the heated indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Two restaurants on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midland
Midland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre Midland, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.