We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but the rooms need updating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but the rooms need updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We did enjoy our stay here, however the pool and hot-tub temperatures were quite cool. The room we stayed in was a good size and clean but were out dated. Breakfast was good with lots of choices and the on-site restaurant had good food and was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    74
    52
    31
    10
See reviews for
86
63
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We were very happy with the service, the staff were excellent and very helpful.
It is near the Martyr Shrine and will always stay there and recomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We were not happy with the service that we received when we stayed here. When we got there we had to switch rooms about 5 times because there were already people in our room! We had to go from two queens to a king instead. The room was fine once we got in there. In the morning we did the express check out because we had already paid for the room online. The next day we realized that they had charged the room to the credit card that we had given to cover any damages, even though we had paid online. They just ignored our payment from online, as we found out that that was not on the credit card. And they charged us the full price instead of the discount price that we had gotten online. When we called the person could not help us. Finally the next day we got a hold of a manager who said that he couldn't do anything unless we drove all the way back there and dealt with it in person! So we paid more than promised on the wrong card after being shifted around about 5 times! Not my idea of a great stay... poor at best.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

my wife and her friend has used the pool,whirlpool and weight room for the last couple of years on a pay as you use basis,since new owners have arrived the whirlpool has been shut down no towel service and cost has gone up fro 50$ to75 $monthly and service has been very poor-why not a seniors discount and repair of the whirlpool?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff, well-maintained and pleasant property, includes a good breakfast. I liked this hotel and would cheerfully recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

In all my experiences, I have never really had much luck with rooms at the Best Western hotel chain. I was pleasantly surprised this time around, since I had a pretty decent room and some good customer service at the front desk.

Check in was quick and efficient, however, since my room was outside of the main hotel, I had to leave the building and walk across the parking lot. I was mildly amused when I walked into a suite rather than a simple room as I had been expecting. The room was moderately clean. The carpet looked like it could some vaccuuming an the bathroom was in poor condition (there were dead bugs on the floor and the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned).

The first room I walked into looked like a little living room. It had a couch, a dining table, a tv, and a closet with ironing board and iron. The next room over was the bedroom. It had a beautiful king size bed, desk and chair, wireless internet (thank goodness), a tv, and an armchair. The bathroom is what I was really disappointed with since it wasn't very clean.

Nevertheless, the room was quiet and I had a great night's sleep. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was simple (hot and cold foods) but not a heck of a lot to choose from - especially if you're eating clean.

Overall, I would definitely reconsider staying at a Best Western and would most certainly return to this one in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

This was my first time staying at the Best Western in Midland, and was very happy. We where welcomed by polite agents at the front desk, told about the services available in the hotel and the easiest way to get to our room. We where surprised by how big the room actually was for a standard room with 2 beds. There was lots of room to walk around between the beds, desk and dresser.
The pool area was very clean and had towels right there so we didn't have to use the ones from our room. The tiles where a little bit slippery from the water on them, but all pool decks are. The kids also enjoyed the games room, it did have some older games, but they where all family oriantated, and the pool table was a great hit.
All in all we had a great time and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 924 King Street, Midland, Ontario L4R 4L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier Midland's only full service hotel in the Southern Georgian Bay area. The hotel recently received the prestigious Director's Award from Best Western International. CAA/AAA awarded the Highland Inn a Three-Diamond Rating. The hotel offers 122 recently renovated guest rooms with a variety of suites. Our enclosed Garden Atrium is a tropical garden featuring trees and lush foliage. Here you will enjoy the heated indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Two restaurants on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midland
Midland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre Midland, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Highland Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.