We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking among the saints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martyrs' Shrine

Martyrs' Shrine
16163 Highway 12 West, Midland, Ontario L4R 4K6, Canada
705-526-3788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Midland
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Bolton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Walking among the saints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Even if you don't have religious beliefs, a visit to Martyrs' Shrine is a must when you are in the Midland/Penetanguishene area. It is a place of beauty, peace and serenity. Take some time to stroll the extensive grounds and admire the monuments to saints who in some cases made grave sacrifices for their faith. The Stations of the Cross are simply magnificent. Pope John Paul ll celebrated mass here during his visit in 1984 and the 30th anniversary of that event will be held on September 6th of this year.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

A special place to attend mass, prayers and personal reflection. Well kept grounds. Very hilly and quiet.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a Holy Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

A beautiful peaceful Church where I stopped to go to Mass and awe inspiring lives of the martyrs that helped the Indians there Always stop there for Mass when in the area. Would love to go back from the states jude to make a pilgrimage

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great pilgrimage site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

As a practicing Catholic, I've always wanted to visit this shrine. Church is beautiful. Lovely stained glass windows. Being able to honor the Canadian martyrs was such a blessing. However, there's a $5 pp charge which I found strange. I've never been to a shrine where you couldn't visit without paying a fee. The grounds are beautiful, but I was not aware that there are memorials for folks from all over the world, not just the Canadian martyrs. Very hilly. I was not aware that there are parking areas on the top of the hill. Wear good walking shoes. The relics are in the side chapels of the main chapel. It's easy to miss if there's a mass or other service going on. It's ok to walk around to see them if there's a service taking place.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The grounds and gardens are beautiful. A lovely view of the surrounding area can be seen from many vantage points. The church is beautiful inside and out. We went inside and caught the last 15 mins of the Sunday service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martyrs' Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martyrs' Shrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.