We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe and reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SilverStar Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SilverStar Motel to your Saves list
SilverStar Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   748 Yonge Street, Midland, Ontario L4R2E5, Canada (Formerly Chalet Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Clean, safe and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Booked a Friday night to visit the local parks and city attractions, this was done easily online, we enjoyed the area and its offerings that Saturday morning we went to the front desk and booked a second night. Room has had updates since we last stayed here a few years back. New paint and carpet were part of the updates, along with management. Very polite helpful staff that you can see they care about your stay. Bottom line clean, safe and reasonably priced

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were planning for a bicycle outing at the end of the summer and through Tripadvisor we located a number of motels in the Midland area. On personal inspection we settled on The SilverStar. We had a pleasant stay, the location was excellent for our planned rides. The owners were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we stayed at the Silver Star motel for three nights and had a wonderful time. What makes this place so special, in addition to its great location and facilities, is that owners Mr and Mrs Jay. They helped us in many ways during our stay. The Room is very well equipped for a couple or a family. The room is ultra clean. Everything has been as promised and as pictured on their web site. I would certainly recommend this motel to anyone vising Midland. Thanks Mr and Mrs. Jay !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arranged to visit Midland on a whim and decided to give the Silverstar a try as we were only there one night .The gentleman at the counter was very pleasant and helpful. He showed me the room before we decided to book and when we did; he spent a few minutes showing me a map of the town. He explained were the best places to eat were and gave me a few pamphlets on the tourist attractions in the area. He also suggested a possible walking route around the lake. At no point did I feel pestered or put upon, in fact I was extremely grateful for the advice.
The room was very spacious and clean, the AC was great and the bathroom was immaculate. The place is a little basic but this is well reflected in the price and as far as motels go I have stayed in far less impressive hotels.
All told, I was really impressed with the Silverstar the staff were great the room was lovely and the price was very affordable for independent travellers. Well done you guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a typical small town motel, however the owners actually care about your comfort.
They keep the rooms clean, and provide you with an extremely friendly and helpful attitude.
I stayed there 8/16/13-8/18/13 and just booked the labour day long weekend starting the 30th.
if you need a room for a night or two, that is worry free and close to the heart of Midland,, then you're more than fine here !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a great night's stay at the Silver Star. We had booked this motel over the phone before our stay andd upon arrival the owner greeted us as if we were long lost friends. The room was very clean and accommodating, with comfortable beds, table and chairs and a tv. We made use of the complimentary toiletries and coffee maker that were in the room as well. it is in a wonderful location, close to restaurants and stores.

The staff was wonderful and we would definitely stay there again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at this motel. Everything was comfortable and the staff was great and very accommodating. The rooms were perfect for the price as well. Recommended for all travelers.

Room Tip: Get the 2nd floor rooms - nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SilverStar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverStar Motel

Address: 748 Yonge Street, Midland, Ontario L4R2E5, Canada (Formerly Chalet Motel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SilverStar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owner Affordable and Comfertable 25 Newly Reovated Rooms Great town and excellent communityFood and entertainment avalible in walking distance from Motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SilverStar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SilverStar Motel Midland, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SilverStar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.