We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, Service and Atmosphere, all Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moxie's

Moxie's
17390 Yonge Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 7R6, Canada
905-953-0920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 219 restaurants in Newmarket
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food, Service and Atmosphere, all Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Moxie's for dinner before a movie. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    12
    10
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best Moxie's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yeah there are other Moxies restaurants but the one in Newmarket on Yonge Street by far is the best - food, atmosphere service - all better then the two ne4ar my house - I travel half an hour to go to this one

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Outdoor Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love their outdoor patio with the fireplaces, Food and Bellinis are always good. Service is excellent and they never rush you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I'll never eat at Moxies again. Nothing stood out about this place. Staff was ignorant. Food was very low grade with a high price tag. You can put a fancy sauce on anything but if it's low grade water pumped up chicken that fancy sauce is not helping it at all.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great food, address customer needs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Moxie's menu has been put together with tender loving care with healthy eating in mind!
We especially enjoy your salads. In my opinion, for a totally satisfying experience, Food and Service travel together. This means, Customer comfort is also important and includes, 1) Hostess to escort customer to a table; 2) Staff to assist patio customer to an inside table if it rains; 3) Staff to open the front door for the customer. Our experience: when we arrived, the hostess suggested we pick any table: "be there in a minute"; later on, the manager held the patio door open while we collected our own plates and tableware and reset ourselves at an empty inside table; and when leaving the restaurant, the hostess was standing just inside the front door, smiling while I struggled with the heavy glass plate door. To be fair, once we were seated for our meal (on the patio and inside the lounge), the wait staff's attention to serving beveridge and food was extraordinary. For me, this could have been a totally satisfying experience. What happened here? Perhaps we were expecting too much?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxie's also viewed

Newmarket, Ontario
Newmarket, Ontario
 
Newmarket, Ontario
 

Been to Moxie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moxie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.