We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spero Ristorante

Spero Ristorante
16655 Yonge Street, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
(905) 710-7833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 219 restaurants in Newmarket
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been to Spero on three occasions and have been very satisfied with each visit. Our dinner last night was exceptional, prompting me to finally write a review and spread the good word. Each time we visit, we start with the bruschetta, as Spero makes one of our all-time favourites. A layer of hot, bubbly cheese covers a thin pizza crust, which is then topped with freshly diced tomato, onion, basil and garlic. The dish is substantial: between three people, we still left two slices uneaten. For the main entrée, I had the Insalata di Funghi (warm mixed mushrooms, arugula, sweet balsamic vinaigrette, panko crusted goat cheese)…normally I wouldn’t expect to have an overwhelmingly positive reaction to a salad, but I’m still thinking about it (and salivating) a day later. My husband had the short-rib stuffed ravioli, which was one of the evening’s specials, but a dish so good that it is a crime not to include it on the regular menu. Our dinner companion is celiac and was pleased to learn that Spero carries two gluten-free pasta options. Nevertheless, she chose the Osso Buco Brasato (braised veal shank served with seasonal vegetables and a parmigiano risotto) and was thrilled with her meal. For dessert, my husband and I shared the crust-less Nutella cheesecake. We really enjoyed the delicate flavour and mousse-like texture (we didn’t even miss the crust – which tends to be our favourite part). Our guest had the flourless chocolate cake (again, she appreciated that there was a gluten-free option), and said that it was good (just not great). All of the desserts are made-in-house, however, we felt the portions were smaller than the $9 price tag warranted. Altogether though, we were deeply satisfied with our meal from start to finish and look forward to introducing additional friends to this local gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    22
    6
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Started well, the person on the phone taking the reservation was very helpful, promised they could cater for children although no seperate menu, Downhill from there! On arrival, we were the only customers - not a good sign. Ordered drinks, Beer was warm - yuck! Tried to explain to the server we wanted plain pasta and chicken for our son, she replied it would have to be 2 meals - not the same helpful person who was on the phone. After ordering, some bread was put on the table - 3 pieces for a table of 5??? We asked for more and was told our appertisers would be out soon were we sure? Like GDM171, staff were rude. The food is good but portions are small. I would advise anyone to stay clear - many at work asked me what I thought - there will not be many customers from there! This was supposed to be a birthday outing for my wife - we will never return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's a little out of the way but well worth the " hunt. " My wife and I have been there numerous times and have never been disappointed. Without question this is the best Italian restaurant in the area and believe me, we've tried them all. Great food, nice decor and always friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had dinner here recently and found the staff to be disorganized and the management downright rude. We waited close to 2 hours for our entrees and once they arrived they were cold and unimpressive. When this was brought to the attention of the owner, she was ignorant and argumentative. I would never attend this restaurant again. It wouldn't surprise me if Spero were to close it's doors soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This restaurant is top notch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I frequent spero whenever we are looking to go out for a great meal or special occasion .

We have taken the members of our family there and they have started to frequent the restaurant as well .

This is a great place that is great everytime we go , I can't say enough about the food and the service except that it is top notch

We are headed back twice this weekend for two different family birthdays, if you look forward to the same restaurant twice in two days they are definitely doing something right I would say.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spero Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Spero Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spero Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.