We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Goulash House

The Goulash House
200 Main Street S., Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 3Z2, Canada
905-235-7122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 228 Restaurants in Newmarket
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband, my in-laws and myself went for a late dinner at the Goulash House over the weekend, and WOW! We reserved a few days ahead because we know how popular the restaurant is. Glad we did. Despite the full house we received fantastic service. The food was great. The portions are huge, so show up hungry. We will return for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Would definitely go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Service was friendly and efficient (granted we went Saturday lunchtime). Food was fresh, good quality, cooked by someone who knows how to cook a proper meal! Brings back memories of my grandmothers cooking, which is a compliment as my grandmother could make delicious European food. Schnitzel was very good, cabbage roll had lots of garlic but makes a good change from the usually bland fair in Newmarket. Finish your meal with a glass of takaji to round off a great experience! Prices were very reasonable considering everything. I would give 5 stars but its not like Susar Lee was cooking. Four would be my top for regular restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Schnitzel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Based on other reviews, we wanted to try this place. We were there on a Friday night and it was quite busy. Live entertainment which was very nice. We both had the Jaeger Schnitzel and it was excellent. Huge portions which meant leftovers for lunch the next day and it was still delicious. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A real gem on our Main St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times, including the day they opened. The food is always fresh and hot. My favourite is their wiener schnitzel while my husband loves their varieties of goulash. Their meals are always plentiful. We always have take home bags for the next day.Service is always good. They have an excellent lunch menu as well. If you want to go over the weekend reservations are definitely necessary. This restaurant is always clean and the owners are pleasant and enjoy interacting with customers. One of the best places to eat in town. They also have outstanding desserts, apple strudel excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'm always amazed at how good everything is here. I live around the corner from here and have been 5 times since they opened.
Must try:
- Goulash Soup.
- any of the Wooden Platters.

You won't be disappointed.
If you're planning on going with a larger group it's a good idea to make reservations as the space is not very large.
Live accordion music Friday and Saturday evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goulash House also viewed

 
Newmarket, Ontario
 

Been to The Goulash House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goulash House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.