We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated decor, good service, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel
17565 Yonge Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 5H6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
prescott, ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outdated decor, good service, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for over a week while my father was on life support after having a serious surgery at Southlake hospital. We stayed in an efficiency unit, that while unfortunately was not a suite with a separate living area, did have a small kitchen with full size fridge, cooktop and microwave. Basic kitchen amenities were there but missing some key items like a sharp knife and can opener which we purchased and then left for other guests. The room was extremely outdated but the staff was very nice and accommodating, being aware of our family situation. Each day, housekeeping inquired when we would be going to the hospital and adapted their cleaning schedule to that. Computer with free internet in lobby area. The room was very inexpensive and seems to be the best location for those travelling to Newmarket to be at Southlake. Our room faced the outside ("motel style") so we could hear quite a bit of noise from the parking lot and did not feel as secure as if one had to enter through a main entrance to get to the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWInnKeeper, Manager at BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for commenting. I hope your father is on the mend. All of our rooms have recently been upgraded throughout the property. Our efficiency rooms are located in the exterior section and we offer very reasonable rates for extended needs like yours. It is unfortunate that you did not advise us of your additional utensil needs, as we would have gladly provided them to you. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment and we sincerely wish you all the best for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    48
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
43
24
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Innisfil, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here overnight to attend a party. The room was clean and nicely appointed with a king-size bed and a room divider for privacy to create a separate 'room' for the sofa bed at night. There was a LCD t.v on both sides of the divider. The bathroom was small.

Buttery Restaurant is accessible via the lobby and is open for all mealtimes. There is no pool located in the building but the hotel has pool privledges near by.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 which looks over the side parking lot. The room has a large bank of windows so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Checked in with my husband on Monday evening, having drive from Muskoka to be close to Southlake Hospital, as I was having shoulder surgery Tuesday morning. Immediately got a discount due to being in town for an operative procedure, which was lovely. The room was very nice, quite large, very clean and comfortable; all staff that we encountered were friendly and eager to please. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at The Buttery, which is conveniently attached to the hotel lobby, and the staff there were wonderful as well. All in all, a very pleasant experience at this hotel. I would have enjoyed going across the road to take advantage of the shopping at Upper Canada Mall, but this wasn't much of a pleasure trip! (surgery went well and I am typing this with my left hand only)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western in Newmarket twice in mid and late September 2011. It was conveniently located. The Upper Canada Mall is opposite with plenty of shops and restaurants. Staff were helpful, rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean. The wi-fi is free and works well.
We were first given an outside room but this smelt of smoke. The staff were helpful and allocated us another room in the main building and this was fine.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker ask for aroom in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were supposed to stay for 6 nights on a business trip but we left after one night. It was too late to cancel the reservation when we arrived in the evening. The location was good (we thought) right across the street from Upper Canada Mall. There is an independant restaurant attached to the hotel (didn't try it). We pulled up and could smell weed right away, heard very strange yelling going on from the second floor of the outdoor access rooms.
There were very sketchy looking people in the lobby when we were trying to check in.
The carpet was worn and the room smelled stale. The fan and AC were very loud and when it kicked it it made a god awful noise. The in room fridge was room temperature (disappointing since we had something to refridgerate).
The staff were great about letting us check out next morning without problem, but I wouldn't stay there agian. We moved to another hotel in Markham we had stayed at before, even though it was further away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWInnKeeper, Manager at BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry your stay with us was not what you had anticipated.

Our property is a blend of interior access guest rooms and a two level section with outside access. The amenities are the same in both interior and exterior guest rooms including 37 inch flat screen HD TV’s, pillow-top beds and an enhanced linen presentation.

As there is so much growth in the area, we host a number of construction crews and specialty trades. They appreciate the exterior section as it affords them ample space to park their work vehicles. Depending on the length of their contracts they like the convenience of having a kitchenette in the exterior section to prepare meals for the week. As with most hotels, we host guests from all walks of life and some may not present in their best attire.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again and that there will be guest rooms available in our main building. Please accept our apology and all the best for the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the exterior rooms(motel style) and were plea entry surprised at the cleanliness of the rooms. The only negative was the mild cigarette smell from visitors whom obviously can not read the no smokin signs. This is a smoke free hotel. Aside from that, the rooms were well kept and seemed recently renovated. Would stay there again if I had to re-visit Newmarket area. We stayed here because we were attending a wedding at the manor, which was only a 10-15 minute cab ride. ($30-$35) would have been nice to have a breakfast included, but "the buttery" restaraunt attached was pretty good and worth it. Free wifi was nice. And the hotel is right across from a huge mall (upper Canada mall I believe). I hope this helps

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWInnKeeper, Manager at BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We try very hard to keep our non-smoking hotel truly smoke-free. Sometimes we miss the fact that, despite ample signage and warnings at checking, a few people break this rule. Your comment will make us work even harder to fulfill our commitment to a smoke-free experience since we know how frustrating for non-smokers even “the mild cigarette smell” is. Again, thanks for taking the time to post your very positive comments about our hotel and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Service was very good, quick and efficient. We chose this hotel as it was closest to a wedding we were attending.The room we had was on the ground floor adjacent to the main building. It appeared to be clean and the bed comfortable. However there was a smell of stale smoke in this non-smoking room. we didn't complain about the room smell as we were in a hurry to get to the celebrations, perhaps if we did, we may have got another room??? We would have had breakfast in the restaurant, but it didn't open until after 9 on Sunday morning... :(

The decor and updated bathroom was very nice as well as the large flat screen TV. Worst was the stale smoke smell.

Room Tip: Make time to check your room, and take a big breath once your in there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWInnKeeper, Manager at BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that we were not advised about the smell in the room as we would have graciously provided you with alternate accommodations or we could have placed our environmental air cleaner in the room you occupied while you were out. Unfortunately some guests don’t always follow the non smoking policies of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel

Address: 17565 Yonge Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 5H6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, 100% smoke free hotel offers meeting and conference facilities for up to 75 people, full service restaurant and 97 well-appointed guest rooms, featuring Simmons Beautyrest® Pillow Top mattresses, 37″ HD LCD TV’s, FREE WiFi High Speed Internet, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newmarket
Newmarket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel Newmarket, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Voyageur Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.