We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorty's Bar & Grill

Shorty's Bar & Grill
967 3rd Ave E, Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
(519) 376-0044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Shorty's is a long-established restaurant in the town centre. One half is a large pub area, the other a quieter dining room. Service was good, the menu and wine list had some interesting choices, pricing wasn't exorbitant. A nice spot for a dinner out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    51
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent upscale roadhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

At first I thought the wait staff was a bit standoff'ish but the bartender that served me was quite good.

I had a spinach salad that I thought was quite good and some wings that were also good. With tuesday being wing night it made them a really good deal.

Nice atmosphere with hockey and baseball going on large screens made for an enjoyable evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“always great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great food, wonderful service. A good selection of wine, although a little pricey. A popular place to go...especially during the Attack Hockey season.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great pub for a meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We actually ate here twice within a week. The first time were were there with a large group of 20 (for a wedding rehearsal dinner) & the staff was very accomodating. We did have quite a long wait for the food, but everyone was talking & didn't seem to mind too much.
The second time we ate there, it was just my husband & myself. I had the garden burger & he had a pasta meal. We enjoyed our food & found the portions very generous. Our server was not overly friendly, but she was attentive enough & I guess that's what counts.
I would definitly recommend this restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Packed on a Saturday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were at Shortys Mar 11 2013. We went with another couple who found the prices high. I didn't think the prices were that bad. It was packed full and a bit noisy. I had the chicken Marinara which was good. The service was prompt and courteous. They had some brands of draft beer which I prefer compared to bottles.

The other couple had burgers as a result of the prices.

Overall we had a good time as we were able to talk for awhile after the meal without any pressure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorty's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Shorty's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorty's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.