We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner with a friend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Side Mario's

East Side Mario's
1315 16th St. East, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 1Z4, Canada
(519) 372-2772
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 92 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wiarton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“dinner with a friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

went for dinner with a freind a few nights ago. Had the squash ravioli! It was amazing! Love the new decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    15
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor menu selection, terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Growing up I loved going to East Side Mario's for unlimited Caesar salad with my chicken fingers and fries. With dietary issues I have to avoid tomatoes which doesn't leave much choice on the menu but I thought I couldn't go wrong having my old favourite. I do not know what part of the chicken they use now but the chicken fingers were disgusting, I tried to give them to a friend later on and he refused them. I asked for light Caesar dressing on my salad which I was happy to have the option of but when it came out the salad was dripping in dressing. This visit ruined my memories of East Side Mario's, definitely will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Tend to find most East Sides decent, but have frequented the Owen Sound location most regularly and find their service and food consistently good. The good is as with most ESMs but you can always depend on them here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food at an affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I love to eat here.The service is great-not rushed-and always pleasant.The food is served hot The bread is warm with a nice hint of garlic.The bottomless bowl of Caesar salad is delicious.This trip (yesterday October 30,2012) was my wife's birthday and was a special luncheon for her.There was not a lot of background noise so we could talk in normal voices-nice.We were asked by the server if everything was acceptable and we were only too glad to say everything was more than OK.The manager actually works out in the front helping the servers so he is available to answer any questions or concerns.Nice touch-a manager who does as well as oversees.Full marks to him as well as the servers.The bill with 1 Stella Artois beer was just over $50.00.We even brought home a "doggie bag"as the serving was more than ample.
Good,hot food,a clean restaurant and people who care about what they provide to their customers. A great place to eat! We will continue to return to East Side Mario's.We suggest that you try it. I am sure you will love this place as much as we do.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, ON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I guess some people enjoy this kind of a setting, but the staff at this restaurant go out of their way to make it ear splitting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Mario's also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to East Side Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Side Mario's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.