We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey's Boot & Blade

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grey's Boot & Blade
1135 2nd Ave. E., Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 2J1, Canada
519-372-2222
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 90 restaurants in Owen Sound
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent food, great selection, great service and good value. Would definitely go back and recommend to others!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    10
    14
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday breakfast just O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We are new to the Owen Sound area and were searching for a good diner for breakfast. We stumbled across the Boot and Blade. Restaurant looks quaint and clean. Decor is old country style with wood chairs, tables and bar. The restaurant had a lot of guests so we figured we'd give it a try. We ordered the breakfast special #1 which is two eggs, 3 slices of bacon, home fries and toast. One of my bacon slices was undercooked and gross. My scrambled eggs were really dry. The home fries taste like they come from frozen as they were also dry and tasteless. The service was nothing spectacular. Our server refilled my husband's coffee twice but never refilled my water when it was completely empty. Our search for a good breakfast place in the area continues. We will not likely return. At least not for breakfast. Cost for each meal was 6.50.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, ON
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Seemed to be a very popular restaurant. We were looking for breakfast at 11:30 in the morning and they had plenty to choose from. Coffee was great, staff friendly, atmosphere energetic. And the cheese crepes were so good! Will definitely go back next time we are in the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious variety and very frendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

every time im there i see the owner making sure everything is going good. he almost runs to get what you need. very very frendly and considerate

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very crowded in the morning - due to their good food and nice staff. They bake their own cakes as well. My husband had to try some and had dessert after breakfast because they sounded so good :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey's Boot & Blade also viewed

 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Grey's Boot & Blade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey's Boot & Blade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.