We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality displays, but village closed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Roots Museum & Archives

Grey Roots Museum & Archives
102599 Grey Road 18, RR 4, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K5N6, Canada
519-376-3690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Owen Sound
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grey Roots Museum & Archives is a multi-faceted attraction that preserves and promotes the cultural and heritage traditions of Grey County. Innovative and informative interpretive programs and demonstrations, rotating exhibits, a heritage village, archival resources and superior customer service create an exciting and educational visitor experience.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“High quality displays, but village closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We made our first visit with only an hour to closing. We were so impressed we returned the next morning to complete the experience. The only downside was that the heritage village did not open until the end of June, which was a major disappointment.
It's a great place to learn about the local history and people - especially Agnes McPhail. We also enjoyed the tour of the printing workshop hosted by veteran printers clearly enthusiastic to share their experience and knowledge. The visiting display of underwater exploration equipment would appeal to children.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greyrootsmuseum, Public Relations Manager at Grey Roots Museum & Archives, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your visit to Grey Roots! We are very glad that your experience was a positive one and that you enjoyed the Print Shop demonstration and our new summer exhibition, Extreme Deep. We share your hope to expand the number of days the Heritage Village is open during the year to accommodate visitors such as yourselves. At present, the Village is open to the public in July and August and for special events.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Best Regards,

Lara Javalyn
Community Relations Coordinator
Grey Roots Museum & Archives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meaford, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

They have done a lot of loving and thoughtful work putting together this attraction. It is a work in progress as they are planning on building a church for the pioneer village this year. I also enjoyed being able to look up on their in-house computer the resting place of your Grey County ancestors.
I am hoping to return there this summer with some of my grandchildren. Some attractions in keeping with their authenticity were not wheelchair accessible. Ladies washroom had handicapped stall but I don't think the entry to the washroom itself was wheelchair friendly.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greyrootsmuseum, Public Relations Manager at Grey Roots Museum & Archives, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review Grey Roots! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the museum and that you plan to return soon. We endeavour to make the museum facility and Heritage Village as accessible as possible for all visitors. I'll be inquiring further on how to improve our accessibility based on your comments. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,

Lara Javalyn
Community Relations Coordinator
Grey Roots Museum & Archives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Made for a nice afternoon! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It was a lovely museum. It cost us $18.00 to get in ($8 + tax ea.) but it was worth it. We were confused at first of where to go but my husband asked and the staff were more than happy to help. We saw an IMAX movie and a new Deep Sea exhibition. I liked that it wasn't busy when we went--only one other couple. I hope they have more business in the summer though! You should go!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greyrootsmuseum, Public Relations Manager at Grey Roots Museum & Archives, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review Grey Roots! We are glad you enjoyed our new summer exhibits and movie in the Theatre. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Lara Javalyn
Community Relations Coordinator
Grey Roots Museum & Archives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very well-organized museum complete with outbuildings including an Anishinabe wigwam, a pioneer village with smithy and sawmill and an early 20th-century garage with classic vehicles.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent museum experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I visited the Grey Roots Museum & Archives for the first time on Sunday. I'm a fan of open-air living history museums, and would rate this as one of the most impressive and enjoyable that I've experienced. The staff - not sure whether they were simply enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteers or paid professionals - did a superb job of animating the colourful history of Grey County.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Roots Museum & Archives also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Grey Roots Museum & Archives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Roots Museum & Archives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.