We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful heritage building restored with care by welciming hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
404 9th Street East, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 1P3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful heritage building restored with care by welciming hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a made a last minute booking and stayed in the turret room which had great character. The walk in shower was lovely too.
Extra touches like complementary nuts and popcorn where sweet but the best bit was our hosts helpfulness and knowledge of the area.
Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattMacMD, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you guys so much for a great review! We enjoyed having you both and hope we will see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We returned once again to the bed and breakfast, this time with two little ones in tow. Matthew and Jamie accomodated our children and welcomed them as they have always welcomed us. Jamie even fed my picky little eater with something that wasn't on the menu. As always the food was mouthwatering, the service above any other and the bed... oh my word... that bed. I slept VERY well. You won't believe me until you try it! These guys know how to run a bed and breakfast. My visits at any other B&B or hotel will always be measured by the high standards held at MacLean Estate B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks guys! We enjoyed having you stay with us once again, and hope to see you on your next excursion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

When staying in Owen Sound to visit an elderly parent we had stayed in a couple of not so ideal motels. We decided to try the B and B stay on our most recent trip. The MacLean Estate was amazing. We stayed in the turret king room with en-suite bathroom. The decor was so lovely and fresh with a beautiful blue and white colour scheme. The king bed was so comfortable and for a downtown location, the room was very quiet. The newly renovated bathroom was lovely and was stocked with everything you would need; shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, etc..
Our host Jamie served a fabulous breakfast of granola with yogurt and fresh fruit, eggs benedict, ginger with blueberry coffee cake and of course good, hot coffee. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Owen Sound. Thanks so much for your wonderful hospitality Jamie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again, so we can try a different breakfast on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had never stayed in Owen Sound before and are so happy we stayed at the MacLean Estate for our first visit! The house is gorgeous, the room was lovely, and we enjoyed having the balcony - perfect for a "happy hour" drink before heading to dinner. A quick and easy walk to downtown dining, shops, and nightlife. Divine yogurt/granola/fresh berries and Cointreau French Toast for breakfast. (Thanks, Jamie, for accommodating our Eggs Benedict-aversion!) We were out until about 1:30 a.m. the night we stayed, and the separate entrance ensured we didn't disturb our hosts. Thank you so much for having us and we hope to visit again!

Room Tip: For a room with an ensuite bathroom, you'll have to pick the King Suite. The other two (Queen) r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We enjoyed having both of you stay here at our B&B and thank you so much for the nice review! We hope to see you both on your next visit to Owen Sound!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants and entertainment. Each room has its own flat screen TV, DVD player, refrigerator and microwave. Newly renovated, the ensuite and king bed room are tastefully done. With a private entrance, a/c, and ceiling fan, this B&B has a wonderful host who serves amazing breakfasts customed to your special needs as well. Thanks Jamie.

Room Tip: The king size bedroom is in the turret and receives the sun in the afternoons. The other 2 rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you guys for staying with us... Jamie loved talking to you guys! We hope we can use some off the photos you took for our Facebook site... they were awesome! We look forward to seeing you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The house is beautiful, the food excellent and the service perfect. The love that has gone into renovating this house now shows in the way they care for their patrons. From immaculate accomodation, to helping out of towners find something to do during their stay and delicious breakfasts, this bed and breakfast is one my family hopes to visit time again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacLeanEstate, Manager at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much Melaine! (and sorry for the late response!) We are excited that you have booked again this August and look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This former doctor's home has been lovingly restored and furnished by the new owners. The location is ideal and within walking distance of the farmers' market, shops and entertainment. We had a spacious room and the full breakfasts were great! We love having a host who will stay and chat through breakfast, and Jamie MacLean had many suggestions for area restaurants to try and shops to visit.

Room Tip: The room with the turret windows was very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattMacMD, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Shirley! We enjoyed having you in our Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 404 9th Street East, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over a Century of Charm and originally owned by some of the first doctors of Owen Sound! This Victorian Bed & Breakfast caters to you! A Hot Gourmet Breakfast awaits in the morning, along with fresh ground coffee, fruits & pastries. A King Turret Private En-suite with Sitting Area and full HDTV, along with 2 Queen Size Rooms, one with a walk out balcony, also both with HDTV in Room. Private B&B Entrance to Come & Go as you Like! Central Air installed... and Our doors were opened to you... June 15th, 2012! "Where Our home is Your home!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast Owen Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.