We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing B&B we've ever experienced...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Manor

Save Saved
You added The Highland Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Highland Manor
867 4th Avenue A West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW DOUBLE RATE SPECIAL!
Ranked #1 of 9 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most amazing B&B we've ever experienced...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

My new Bride and I have just returned from our wedding held in Owen Sound this past weekend (June 3rd 2006) and we are in a word "Amazed" yet again with the Highland Manor. We had experienced the Manor previously in February (2006) for both of our birthdays and were so impressed with the incredible hospitality and beautiful charm of this wonderful home that when we were deciding where to spend our first night as husband and wife, the Highland Manor was our one (and ONLY) choice. Our wedding ceremony was held in Owen Sound at another location, but for our photographs we had no other location in mind but the Highland Manor. When we arrived to have our wedding photographs taken, both Paul and Linda greeted us at the front door with a camera in their hands ready to be the first to get a picture of us as a newly married couple. We spent the next two hours (plus) in the beautifully manicured gardens of the Manor having our wedding pictures taken while Paul and Linda were escorting the many throngs of visitors through the House during the Owen Sound "Open Doors" Weekend celebrating the wonderful architecture that the Owen Sound area has to offer. The entire time we were having our photographs taken, we felt as if we were not only guests of the Inn, but family..... Our wedding party which consisted of (not only) a group of adults, but several children were treated like gold and even had both Paul and Linda snapping shots of us to add to their collection of memories for the their wonderful Home. Arriving after our long wedding day, we found the Highland Manor as beautiful as we had left it earlier in the day, and retired to our suite (The Honeymoon Suite), which in our opinion is the most beautiful room in the entire house.

When touring the Highland Manor, Paul and Linda’s decorating skill, attention to detail, and true love for their home create an ambiance that is felt from the moment you arrive.

Upon waking the morning after our “big day” we found the dining room filled with guests that were aware (ahead of time) that we were the “newlyweds” that had spent our first married night together at the Manor. Our breakfast experience in a word was “incredible” as both Paul and Linda are gifted with culinary skills that must be experienced to be truly appreciated. Linda and Paul’s attention to detail went as far as to leave us a freshly printed copy of one of the photographs that they had taken the day before in a frame at our breakfast table for us to keep as a memento of our stay.

To call the Highland Manor merely a Bed and Breakfast doesn't do justice to the experience of staying in this amazing home. When making reservations over the telephone (or through e-mail), and before you even arrive to meet Paul and Linda, you are given the feeling that you are speaking to good friends that you've known all of your life.

Paul and Linda's hospitality, grace and incredible charm make the experience of staying in any of the amazing rooms they have to offer as wonderful as anyone could imagine an "away from the ordinary" getaway to be...

Both my new bride and I so highly recommend the Highland Manor that anyone can freely contact us to hear first hand about our experience and understand our excitement of telling everyone about Paul and Linda’s incredible home and wonderful charm. We are already planning our first wedding anniversary at the Highland Manor because there is no other place that we would feel as welcome as in one of their beautifully decorated rooms, and experience one of their incredible breakfasts.

Experience the Highland Manor you will not be disappointed.

Graham and Kari L.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
74
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
meaford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

This past Victoria Day weekend, we had a family reunion at the Highland Manor. Four brothers and their wifes decended on the fabulous city of Owen Sound. We all come from various parts of Ontario and as soon as we arrived from our long trip, we were welcomed by host, Paul and Linda who immediately made us forget that we were tired from our long trip. The whole weekend was relaxing at the manor. The rooms were exceptional and the fireplaces in each room were fantastic. ( the weekend weather was quite cool- so the warmth of the fire was such a treat). Each morning, we were served an exquisite breakfast. Our wives wanted the recipies! We have stayed in many B&B, but I must say the Highland Manor was by far the best ever in hospitality and atmosphere. We all loved it.
Paul and Linda- we just want to thank you for everything. Owen Sound should be very proud to have such a great place to stay when visiting the city.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

When I was aked to take the Owen Sound area for my Company, I immediately went to the Owen Sound web site to find a B&B to stay at and the Highland Manor caught my attention as it is a great old home. After my initial call to Linda to make a reservation, I knew this was really going to work for me. On my first visit, I asked Paul a question about the house and he gave me a grand tour and the tour was amazing as Paul was so informed and interested in the most fasinating history behind the Manor. Be sure to ask for a tour as you will not be disappointed and Paul will keep your undivided attention. That was 4 years ago and I continue to return to the Manor every 2 weeks to this day.

There is nothing like sitting on the huge wrap-around porch in the summer, sitting on one of many antique rockers watching the birds and gardens in the back yard, watching the fire logs flicker in the fireplace that adorns every room or dream about what you are going to have for breakfast the next morning--Linda is a fabulous cook and Paul is a most gracious host as he serves you coffee.

Linda and Paul will make your reservations at a restaurant that they have checked out for you and even suggest restaurants within walking distance if you would like to enjoy a glass of wine with dinner and leave the car at the Manor. They are both very knowledgable about the area and will suggest sites that are worth seeing and there is a wealth of books on the area for your reading pleasure as well as a full library if you would like to pass the time away reading on the porch.

This is truly a gem in Owen Sound and I hope you will visit the Grey-Bruce area and indulge youself at The Highland Manor.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2005

We stayed at the Highland Manor for two nights in July and absolutely loved it. It is more like an inn than a B&B, as the owners have their own separate living quarters, all the guest rooms are on the second floor and have their own ensuites. The house is gorgeous. The main floor rooms, library, dining room and music room are beautifully decorated and the main hall is lovely. Lots of hardwood and polished wood and 12 foot ceilings. The guestrooms are large and very comfortable with quality bed linens. Our hosts, Paul and Linda, were charming, hospitable and very helpful (made dinner reservations, lent us maps, etc.). And the breakfasts were delicious. The blueberry pancakes were light and airy and the cheese/egg bake was so filling that we didn't eat again until dinner. The location of the Highland Manor is great, within walking distance of Owen Sound (which we really enjoyed), at the top of a ridge. Even in the middle of this unbearably hot summer, the breezes kept the house cool and there was no problem with bugs. We loved sitting on the veranda with our coffee after breakfast, and with our wine before dinner. Can't wait to return - we had the perfect, relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Address: 867 4th Avenue A West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.