We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm & Romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Highland Manor to your Saves list
The Highland Manor
867 4th Avenue A West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW DOUBLE RATE SPECIAL!
Ranked #1 of 9 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old World Charm & Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband & I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The house is absolutely stunning! Our room was spacious, yet cozy and it had a working fireplace. Linda was kind enough to make dinner reservations for us at one of the nearby restaurants and the main Downtown strip was within walking distance. When we returned to the Inn, Paul got the fire ready for us. No better way to spend your anniversary, then sharing a bottle of wine, in front of the fireplace, in a beautiful place and then fall asleep in one of the most comfortable beds ever! We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Thanks, Linda & Paul xoxo

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
87
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Highland Manor early this year. The B&B is truly magical if you like old world charm. The room was perfectly done with french decor and quite spacious. The host is exceptionally friendly and booked us our dinner reservation in town for the night.
If you go around New Year's - Owen Sound has the festival of lights. Take a carriage ride around town at night- it's quite magical.
The bars all have live music and people are ever so friendly. The location of the Highland Manor is few minutes away from main town - it's easy to get there just by walking.
We would definitely go back to Highland Manor - thumbs up for a city girl like me!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We found this site on line via Trip Advisor. What a gem. The B&B was clean spacious, well appointed and the hosts were superb. If you plans include Northern Ontario or the Bruce Grey Counties be sure to make this your destination of choice! The only down side is the ladies felt it could use more heat on the cool days of fall.

Room Tip: Four rooms all would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A classic building, Linda and Paul are entertaining and helpful hosts, fantastic breakfasts (Day 1: maple-orange french toast with strawberry compote; Day 2: southwest eggs with fresh croissants...mmm - hungry just remembering!)
We spent a weekend at the end of September watching the salmon run up the nearby fish ladder, river, and up to the spawning beds a few km up a lovely trail, then went for a fantastic meal in town.
A perfect weekend!

Room Tip: We were in the "worst" (smallest?) room - it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There's a reason this is the number-one rated inn. If you are thinking of staying in or passing through Owen Sound or the Bruce Peninsula, just stay here! You will be quite happy you did.

The home is lovely--I wish I had taken more time to sit in the library--and the rooms are very nice. Our room was sunny and light, and the bed was phenomenally comfortable.

The breakfast was excellent. It was delicious but not fussy, filling but not overly so. A clear winner.

The hosts are superb. Linda and Paul are friendly, funny, and informative. In fact, they're hilarious. It was a great pleasure to meet and chat with them (and I don't say that about all B&B hosts). They gave us great advice on restaurants, scenic walks and drives, and even arranged the owners of a general store on the peninsula to open their doors so we could have an ice cream stop.

I could not ask for more and only wish we could have stayed longer. This is an unqualified five stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose the Manor based on other travellers' reviews, and were not disappointed. This B & B oozes with old world charm and elegance. Our room was neat, clean, and well appointed, and the hosts, Linda and Paul, were wonderful. They took the time to tell us about Owen Sound, and to suggest places to dine and explore. My husband fell in love with the library, the perfect setting for a relaxing read; while my daughter opted for the music room. As for me, I could spend another weekend just exploring this wonderful house with its antique furnishings. Breakfasts were lovely, especially the baked eggs and hand-picked tomatoes :). We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Linda and Paul for a whole week Aug 7th. From the beautiful room, Manor, surroundings, antiques and wonderful hosts it was heaven!
Breakfast was amazing from the most fluffy of all lemon blueberry pancakes to the spicey southwest eggs and warm from the oven crousants! Even the Juice AND Coffee! Fresh fruit picked lovingly just for us! LOL
Thank you again and we will be back again
Dean, Bonnie, Sarah & Jen

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Address: 867 4th Avenue A West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.