We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth It” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Inn on the Bay on the night of August 12th and picked the hotel based on looking at reviews on this site and looking at their Web Site. The price was higher than the other hotels in OwenSound but we thought it would be worth it. We were wrong!

When I booked the room they told me I could not reserve a room with a view of the bay ahead of time and of course when we checked in they said they had none left. This was disappointing seeing that this hotel charges extra knowing that their location and views of the bay are part of their appeal.

We checked in and when we arrived in our room it was ok but several things were not what we would expect at the rate we paid. The wallpaper was coming off of the wall in one section, the room smelled a bit "stuffy", and the biggest thing - the bed was awful! We couldn't believe that any hotel would equip their rooms with beds like this one. It was obviously very old and very well used - there was no boxspring, no support, and it was completely sagging!

We also noted that on the information card that was on the back of the door in our room it said the room rate was $10 less than what they charged us! When we inquired about this at the front desk when checking out they told us it was an error and weren't going to give us the lower rate until we pressed for it.

The other thing that people should know if booking this hotel is that it is located in an "industrial" section and a good walk from any restaurants or sights. The good thing is cabs charge a flat rate of $6 to go anywhere within the city limits.

The good thing I can say is that the continental breakfast was good and the morning waitresses were very friendly.

I wouldn't recommend staying here but can't recommend where to stay in OwenSound as we haven't stayed anywhere else. The price they charge just simply isn't worth it.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    86
    28
    8
    14
See reviews for
62
101
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We recently stayed 2 nights and found the room, although we booked a non-smoking, did smell of smoke. In addition the beds were very uncomfortable and the rooms were not very clean, lots of dust around the TV. The breakfast that was included in the cost of the room wasn't good at all, very limited selection and the hot buffet had powdered eggs and cold hash browns on the table. Also felt the rate of $139/night was very high for the room, all in all a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Inn on the Bay Owen sound for one night in a suite overlooking the lake and were very pleased with the room and service at the hotel. Reception staff were very helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent too. We will return again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

We stayed at the BW Inn on the Bay for one night last week, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Our rooms were in the new block, in a designated quiet area, so we heard no noise from any other guests. We had connecting rooms each with a bathroom - one with two beds and a fireplace, and the second with a king bed and sitting room. All spotlessly clean and nicely equipped with good views over the water.

We were impressed to see that once you exited the lift, the room key was required to gain access to the corridor where our rooms were, which was a very good security measure.

A continental breakfast was included in the rate, which was perfectly acceptable with plenty of choice, but for a couple of dollars you could upgrade to a cooked breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausages etc) which was a bonus. Good, friendly waiting staff in the breakfast room.

Don't be putt of by the approach to the hotel - it's a nice place and well worth the trip. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

It's a very nice place with a great view on the bay. We slept in the newest part of the hotel ane the room was very clean and beautiful. We hope we'll come back another time.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

I had booked the room and had comfirmed a rate only to get there and they changed the rate. I showed them my confirmation but that didn't seem to matter. They did not try to fix the situation at all, I think the front desk staff where rude. Also the outside of the hotel is not nice, kind of looks like a prison, the rooms where just o.k.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

We had a suite in the new part of the hotel and the room was very clean and comfortable, with a nice view. Alltough, it was quite small for a suite.
The whirlpool and the sauna are great, but they have no pool (altough it looks like ti on the photos) and thy gym is tiny.
The food in the restaurant is good but also very expensive.
All in all, this is a nice hotel but it's not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.