We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not much bang for your buck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Owen Sound

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Owen Sound to your Saves list
Knights Inn Owen Sound
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   672 10th Street West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3R9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK, but not much bang for your buck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

So, it matched my essential criteria for a suitable place to stay: safe, clean, quiet, everything in working order. But a bare-basic room in a 1950s motel for $80? Not a great deal. It should be said that this is far cheaper than most other places in Owen Sound, a pleasant but otherwise unremarkable town. I think your best bet if you're visiting this neck of Ontario is to either splurge and find a nice place on the lake, or stay in some town farther off the tourist track.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights672, General Manager at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience that we have not quite reached your expectations as we do try our best to reach the potential. Once again, sorry for the inconvenience and we do hope to see you in the future. Knights Inn Owen Sound Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
24
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel was impeccably clean and very quiet. We came in late after a long day on the road and felt right at home. Sam was able to provide good directions and recommendations for a place to eat and where to run. He even offered us use of his charcoal grill if we wanted to stay put for the evening. Very friendly service. We would stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights672, Manager at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay with us. We are glad you have wrote a positive response towards our management and are greatly appreciated for your review. We do hope to see you again at our hotel in the future.
Knights Inn Owen Sound Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

what an experience i was on business trip to owen sound and found this hotel,beautiful room for very good price. everything you need in room with morning breakfast.wonderfull staff always welcoming you with big smile and ready to help. I will come back alone or with family, place is secured........ loved it

good job

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights672, Manager at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel on trip advisor. Our goal is to make our customer feel comfortable and happy at all times. Thank you for giving us a positive review and we do hope to see you in the future with your positivity towards our hotel.
Knights Inn Owen Sound Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed over this weekend and it was a great experience. The management staff was very nice and cooperative! Very polite and made us feel at home! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights672, Owner at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay with us. Your comment is very appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do hope to see you again at our hotel in the future with your positivity towards our management and hotel being.
Knights Inn Owen Sound Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and myself went to Owen Sound to deal with a family medical problem so due to a tournament we were forced to book a room at the Owen Sound Knight Inn, when we called to book the Gentleman (Sam) we talked to said it was the only room left. Three hours later we had to cancel the room in which the desk clerk (Sam) now informed us there were 5 rooms to be booked and if he could possibly re-book ours he would but if not he would charge us half price.when he was confronted about the obvious lie he said he would have to charge us full price due to our complaint, we received no printed record and the customer care could find no record of our booking. we still await to see what is being charged to our credit card! Be ware of this charlatan.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights672, Owner at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
I am the of owner this property and work the front desk daily, taking most to all reservations. In this instance, the guest called me on friday around 3.15pm to book. The only room we had available was a smoking room. The guest called again at 7.53pm (perhaps because they had found a non smoking room somewhere else) to cancel their booking. I explained to them on phone that they could not cancel because of the 24 hour policy. I explained to her that if i could sell the room to any other guest she would not be charged. Unfortunately that didn't happen. I explained to guest and advised that as a result, they would be charged for 50% of the room rental – which was a courtesy in itself. Guest then became disgruntled and argumentative.

When there is a 24 hour cancellation policy, the guest is charged if they do not cancel within this timeframe – that is the policy and we were adhering to our policy.
Thank you
knights Inn
1-519-372-2929
Owen Sound Ont Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We had a great time here. Very clean...this is from a ocd clean freak. . We felt like royalty in the "honeymoon" unit. You can tell that they are working very hard to get this motel looking the very best it can. You can hear the pride of ownership in the mans vioce that we spoke to. Very pleasent man. He was telling us a few thing that he is looking forward to doing once we get better weather. Im excited for this place. Its nice to see them fixing things up right instead of just tearing it down and building new. We enjoyed an evening out at the bowling lane for a birthday party for my husband with family and friends and then the two of us enjoyed the room we stayed in. Clean, quiet,fresh smelling. We will be back next March to do it all again. Clean impresses me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnOwenSound, Manager at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay with us. Your comment is very appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do hope to see you again at our hotel in the future with your positivity towards our management and hotel being.
Sam, Knights Inn Owen Sound
519-372-2929
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Recently stayed at the Knight's Inn in Owen Sound while visiting our son attending college in Owen Sound. We pre-booked 2 nights at this dump. Upon arrival our room was dull, dingy, and reeked, musty and old. The beds were probably really nice back in the '60's, not so good now. The rust in the bathtub was attractive. As it was raining, we were serenaded alllll night long from water pouring out of the front eavestroughs to a Niagara Falls splat 10 feet straight down into the parking lot. The subtle nuances of downspouts seems to have eluded our host, Sam. Who is more than likely a Samir. The room was frigid, and there was very little hot water. We cancelled the second night and had a delightfully vicious verbal battle with good 'ol Sam(ir) the next morning. I guess he is used to bullying people around, but realized he wasn't getting far with me, yet tried to negotiate the refund. We got it all back. This would be a wonderful place to send your mother-in-law. Other than that, avoid this dump like the plague. No, really.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightsInnOwenSound, Manager at Knights Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to present your concerns regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. We try not to not only meet the guest expectations but to exceed them and in this case you have indicated that we did not. I have investigated the events on the night in question and found the following: Rust In Bathtub: the hotel is currently in renovation and we will look after this problem. Old Beds: We had bought new bed's in the summer of June 2010. Room Cold: Though the heat thermo-state was not turned on enough, but me and your spouse went in the room and he agreed it was not turned on enough. Very Little Hot Water: Our hotel has new, instant hot water and it normally takes 30 to 40 seconds to recieve hot water. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during the stay. I hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by coming to stay with us again under better circumstances. If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hestitate and do call me anytime. Thank you very much. ( 519 372 2929 )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Owen Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Owen Sound

Address: 672 10th Street West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Owen Sound 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Owen Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Owen Sound Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Owen Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.