We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Definitely Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Between the Maples

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between the Maples
Save
You added Between the Maples to your Saves list
2344 3rd Avenue West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 4S5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent a long weekend enjoying the offerings of Owen Sound and couldn't have been in better hands! Maggie and Gord are great hosts. Our check-in time was flexible (arranged ahead), our bedroom was comfortable, clean and well appointed. We appreciated the availability of the fridge (stocked with lemonade and water, but with room for our own goodies too). Maggie provided us with beverages and treats each afternoon.

Breakfast was great! She is willing to accommodate a variety of food restrictions and still provide a tasty, bountiful breakfast. Each day our breakfast was different but included fruit, yogurt and a hot entree with toast and bacon or sausages. Didn't need to eat till late afternoon!

We spent time on the front porch with a glass of wine / beer each afternoon watching the sailboats on the bay and enjoying the gentle breeze. Ah...a little piece of heaven. Thanks so much for a warm welcome and great stay. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashGRT, Owner at Between the Maples, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we were happy to be your hosts. See you next summer.

We really enjoy our returning guests who appreciate the full hot breakfast and the variety we try to present. At this time of the year many of the items on the table are from our garden. We also like to surprise our guests with treats in the evening.
On the hot days the front gazebo is the place to be to relax or even catch a short nap. We built the gazebo to enable guests to enjoy the view. There is even light if you wish to read after dark.

I know they will be back because they have already booked for next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fragrant linens, comfortable bed, pristine bathroom with all needed amenities, whispering overhead fan and a fantastic breakfast complete with stimulating conversation. I will be back - thank you Gord and Maggie.

Room Tip: quiet area in this lovely community - either room look like they are similar though one with jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashGRT, Owner at Between the Maples, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of our B&B. We look forward to our guests returning and the breakfast conversation which is always so interesting for us. We never know what we are going to learn from people from all walks of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

First time at a b&b. Great experiance, excellent host and the food was the best. A great variety of breakfast food. Highly recommend Between the Maple to anybody looking for a b&b in the area Another highlight was the great sleep we had on those comfortable matresses

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashGRT, Owner at Between the Maples, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It is always great to meet guests who have never been at a B&B before. It gives us chance to show them the differences and talk about how to get the best experience in their future travels. Maggi tries to ensure a good variety of breakfast for those who stay for a longer period. It is great to hear how well they slept. We bought good quality mattresses to assure a good experience for our guests. We hope to see them again when they can enjoy the summer gazebo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

my family and i recently had to return to my parents hometown due to a death in the family our house was packed with so many of us children and grandchildren returning home on a last minute notice,and our local hotel we usually stayed at was booked stayed with Maggie and Gord owners of between the maples after reading an online review while desperatly searching for a place that would also take our young daughter. gord and maggie fully understood our situation, they made every effort to make our breif stay with them as comforting and inviting as we were at our own home my daughter instantly took to maggie and gords warm and welcoming nature. although our hours were often late due to our cercumstances maggie always had coffee or whatever we required on hand. we spent long hours chatting with our hosts and getting to know each other a bit. maggies meals we excellent and her qiches were over the top thanks maggie, and when my daughter acciedently left a item at the B&B i was unaware of it but four days later our post man delivered a card address to our daugher with her precious necklace she was as excited getting her own mail as she was for the return of her lost necklace.we will hopefully be returning agian this summer to between the maples i would gladly recremend the B&B as a place to stay if you looking for a home like atmosphere thats quite and peacefull and located close to many of west Greys attractions and events. Thanks agian Gorden and Maggie

Room Tip: we stayed in the silver maple room it was a fairly large room with a king sized bed that all three o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashGRT, Owner at Between the Maples, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We certainly enjoy our discussions with all our guests. It is exciting to learn where life's journey has taken them thus far. Their daughter was a very mature 4 year old who was a delight to have around. Serving our guests beyond their expectations is our pleasure. We look forward to winter guests returning in the summertime when the flower gardens and trees present an entirely different view from the gazebo facing Georgian Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a warm, inviting home environment for our 7 night stay. Maggie and Gord provided every comfort required. The breakfasts were completely delicious. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have picked Gord and Maggie's B & B. They provided us with wonderful information about Owen Sound, and the surrounding area, and helped us determine a good fit for our retirement years. B & B also means treats at night - Thank you so much for your hospitality - we enjoyed our stay and morning conversations immensly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashGRT, Owner at Between the Maples, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Each morning we looked forward to hearing about where our guests had visited and their impressions of the town and amenities. It gave us a chance to learn about areas further a field from the Owen Sound region. Hopefully we will see them again once they retire to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay, gorgeous room, delicious breakfast and friendly hosts. We had great conversations with Gord and Maggi. Room is warm and cozy. The hosts attended all the details and needs that we had. We love the place. Highly recommended to others!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Between the Maples on Aug. 31, 2012. Gord and Maggie are wonderful hosts. We had a delicious breakfast and a very relaxing stay at this Inn. The room was well appointed and very cozy. We left with fresh tomatoes from their garden. Hope to return to this Inn again.

Room Tip: The Silver Maple is the largest room with whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashGRT, Owner at Between the Maples, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
The garden, you mentioned, provides us many vegetables that we include in our breakfast meals through much of the year. The broccoli is still fresh out of our garden (late Oct.) and is used in our vegetable quiche. The strawberries, raspberries and blackberries from our garden are served as jams all year round. Every meal starts with fruit which is local when ever possible and sometimes from our garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Between the Maples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between the Maples

Address: 2344 3rd Avenue West, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 4S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among mature maples, our B&B is a century home with updated rooms, located in Owen Sound, with a view of Georgian Bay. Stroll along the Marina, Kelso Beach and the Harbourfront to our vibrant downtown with its fine dining, theatre, museums and shopping.Inspected by Federation of Ontario Bed Breakfast Accommodation and by Grey Bruce Bed Breakfast Association. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between The Maples Owen Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Between the Maples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.