We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellingtons

Wellingtons
105 James St, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1T7, Canada
705 746 1333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Cuisines: Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Fish and chips with a pint made for a great lunch on a sunny Saturday afternoon! The most amazing thing about this restaurant were the photographs of Parry sound throughout history. Could just spend an afternoon looking at them!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anileekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kettering
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My Favorite Spot in a Great Town...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you enjoy a very friendly and comfortable establishment with excellent eats, this is the restaurant for you and your family. There are three rooms of dining with the main entry dining room surrounding a Cheers type Bar. The atmosphere is not however that of a Bar, but rather a Family Friendly bright and light dining experience. The Menu is item-rich, but I go for the Fish & Chips or Rueben Sandwich every time. Their french fries are excellent as is their side-salid. You can opt for half fries and half sapid for a very small additional fee. While this town is a beautiful tourist destination you will find the clientele of the Wellington is a healthy mix of tourists and locals. The location is down the main drag down the hill from downtown, but worth 5-minute walk or very short drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have to to Wellingtons twice. The last time we were in for schnitzel night. Was fantastic . The portion was almost more than we could eat but it was so good we had to finish it all
Going back for sure.
Thank You

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jefmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
1 review
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Food was cold, Forgot my Onion Soup. very little vegetables. wife's Schnitzel was terrible and tasteless. On top of that dinning room had flies and landed in coffee. Will never return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Slower Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ate at this restaurant for dinner on 2 nights of our vacation. It is definitely a place where both locals and travelers go, with a comfortable atmosphere. This place retains very much the pub atmosphere, but with much better food and a wider selection. The meals that my wife and I had were very good. My only complaint is that there seemed to be a shortage of staff; service was pretty slow - on the second night I timed it and it took an hour+ for them to arrive after ordering. Followup visits to the table both nights were also fewer than I'm used to - and it wasn't for lack of trying by the wait staff, there just weren't enough of them. Still, I'd go back anytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roadWarrior1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellingtons also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Wellingtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing