We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
40 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Get free travel guide
Ranked #1 of 11 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding B&B in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

40 Bay Street is a MUST. It is a fresh, clean B&B with a stunning view thanks to its great location overlooking the harbourfront of Parry Sound. Susan is a great host, very friendly, engaging and font of local knowledge. The room itself was clean, tidy and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of things to eat - all of which was lovely. Overall a great place to stay - shame we only spent one night there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
96
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spirit Lake, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

The view of Parry Sound is incredible. Susan Poole, host, is easy to know and charming. The rooms are all just lovely and thoughtfully appointed. The bed is wonderful and you can have a choice of pillows. We had a very nice shower, which had a "rainhead" as well as a handhed shower and then spigots that pulsed all over you. We enjoyed the upper sun porch, adjacent to our room, as well as the front porch area where we ate one of our breakfasts overlooking the bay. This is a georgeous area and Susan Poole was able to direct us to some of the area's attractions. Very nice stay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed our two-night stay at 40 Bay Street. The pleasant private deck overlooking the garden from the Garden Room provided a lovely retreat in the afternoon and Susan's breakfasts were terrific! Great location near the town warf and walking distance to many resaurants and features. Susan is a fun and welcoming host. We'll certainly stay there again on our next trip to Parry Sound.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was such a positive experience. I would highly recommend Susan Poole and her place to anyone looking for a calm and relaxing place to stay.

Especially for business people needing a couple of days away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Breakfast was great. The service was amazing...especially the attention to detail.

Thanks Susan. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I had to drive our daughter from Trenton to McKellar for her summer job working at Camp Kodiak and decided to try a B&B in Parry Sound. I always read the reviews on Trip Advisor whether we are travelling in Europe or in North America and read great reviews on Susan's B&B. Her son is no longer working there as the chef but Susan is an excellent cook and we all enjoyed her breakfast the next morning. The Bay Room I had overlooked the water and you can see the float planes landing on the water from the cute sitting room at the front of the house upstairs. Great B&B and would stay there anytime I was up there in Parry Sound. The hotels there need to be updated before I would stay in one of them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Sadly due to our tight schedule we were only able to stay one night. Susan is a very welcoming hostess and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We came for the George Canyon Concert at the Stokey Center and this wonderful B&B is just a short walk away. Hotel rooms where $100 plus so for a little more including breakfast, this is a luxury bargain. Susan is a wonderful hostess. [This is where Bobby Orr stays but don't tell anyone]. Also a nice surprise for the ladies was Perfectly Pampered the next morning for a manicure&pedicure. Trains are close by but who cares. Bob from Collingwood

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Many thanks for the kind words! I just want to clarify - Bobby Orr has only stayed here once - but we would be glad to host him anytime! He is a real gentleman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parry Sound's waterfront and just a stroll to all the major attractions in town, each of our air-conditioned suites offers a unique and outstanding feature - a stunning view of Georgian Bay and the town's waterfront, a room with a spa-like bathroom, or a private, sun-drenched deck overlooking our gardens. Our breakfast menu is designed by a professional chef, whose dedication to fresh ingredients and organic products make breakfast sublime. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.