We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
40 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Get free travel guide
Ranked #1 of 12 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, Canada
1 review
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at this charming historical home with the beautiful original wood floors. We stayed in the pretty Bay Room with the spectacular water view of the bay and marina where the Island Queen is docked. The location is great, only steps away from restaurants and the marina. We took the Island Queen cruise while we were there and were truly impressed by the iconic beauty of the vast number of rocky islands and narrow passageways. Our host, Susan, was so friendly and helpful and a pleasure to chat with. The next morning we came down to a beautifully set dining room table and a lovely breakfast including delicious homemade bread. Everything was great, and the hospitality second to none. We would definitely stay here again, would love to try out the other rooms as well. Thank you Susan for everything!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
101
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were traveling from the north to toronto and spent one night at the deluxe room from susannes b&b. great chamber and the bathroom is also great. it has everything and more. the innkeeper, Susanne, is very helpful and nice. absolutely the best choice for staying in the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
OrianaJade88 - We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast. After all the driving you did to make it to Parry Sound, and the busy plans you had for Toronto, I am so glad you found the room restful and the breakfast filling. I hope that you might have the opportunity in the future to spend more time in the area and see some of the great nature we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a "regular" who keeps coming back a few times per year, 40 Bay St has become like a second home. Having stayed in all three rooms, each offers its own unique perk. The Retreat Room has a contemporary zen-like decor with a spacious bathroom that features the most relaxing multi-jet shower. The Garden Room not only overlooks the vegetable and flower gardens but has a large deck that's perfect for a few hours reprieve before heading back out to explore Parry Sound and the surrounding area. The Bay Room is a cozy but bright space that boasts a picturesque view of the harbour especially in the early morning. Each morning, Susan serves up a big hearty breakfast that never disappoints and lively conversation that helps you include the best that Parry Sound has to offer into your day. The location is perfectly situated within easy walking distance of the Island Queen cruise, Georgian Bay Airways, the Stockey Centre, the Rotary Fitness Trail and the shops of downtown. Truly the best place to stay in Parry Sound!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Halyna K - It is always such a treat to have you come and stay when you are in Parry Sound. It might have taken four years, but you finally had the opportunity to discover all the charms of the various rooms. We are so fortunate to enjoy kindness and consideration during all your visits - and hope that your "favourite" room will be available during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live in England and were visiting Parry Sound on business. Whatever your reason for visiting the area, this is THE place to stay! Susan made us feel at home from the moment we entered the door. The bedroom and private attached bathroom were both spacious and well appointed - the shower was particularly impressive and was large enough to accommodate several friends should you be so inclined.

Attention to detail was superb: refrigerator, wine glasses, coffee tea and cappuccino maker, ear plugs in-case your partner snores (the railway line is not intrusive, snoring is!) etc.

Overall the accommodation exceeds expectations of even a top hotel and above all, no hotel can come close to the warm hospitality that Susan provides. Breakfast was a treasure trove of delights, from the fresh fruits and home-baked muffins to omelettes made to order, or a frittata with fresh herbs and vegetables from her garden or blueberry pancakes with Canadian maple syrup and last but not least fresh home-baked bread.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peter 1612 - We are so glad we were able to offer you the opportunity to relax during your very busy stay in Parry Sound. Offering our guests a variety of options for breakfast, and the amenities of home are our way of helping you make the most of your trip - just the way you like it! We hope you had a safe journey home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I can think of no better situated accommodation for attending performances at the Stockey Centre. Garden Room has access to private deck and peaceful green space; great location for glass of Pinot in afternoon dappled sunshine. Full breakfast and such a pleasant hostess. Will be an annual retreat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Hugh K: Thank you for your kind words - coming from someone who has experience in the industry, it means a great deal to us. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed last Thurs at 40 Bay Street since we were going out early on the Chippawa III boat to Henry's Fish House the next morning. A lovely, immaculately clean B & B and owner Susan was a great conversationalist and very helpful in making dinner reservations for us at the Bistro on Bay that night. Unfortunately, because of time constraints, we were not able to linger longer over our delicious breakfast and talk further with the other guests. We would not hesitate to return to this B & B and just might do so later this year to look at the Fall colours.

Room Tip: Because of the trains going by there is some noise, however no whistles blowing, just the rumble on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Michael C: It is always our pleasure to help our guests make arrangements while in Parry Sound. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here as well as our recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights last week at 40 Bay Street B&B. We like to attend the Festival of the Sound in July and go "home" to 40 Bay Street at night. Susan is always welcoming, providing excellent amenities, superb accommodations and delicious breakfasts. Thanks again Susan for a delightful mini vacation.

Room Tip: The garden room has a deck and a view of the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayparrysound, Owner at 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Fayser - you know we always look forward to your visits, and this year was no exception! It would be wonderful to see you again this fall - I have made a note to make sure we remember to put a feather pillow in your room. so it is ready for your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parry Sound's waterfront and just a stroll to all the major attractions in town, each of our air-conditioned suites offers a unique and outstanding feature - a stunning view of Georgian Bay and the town's waterfront, a room with a spa-like bathroom, or a private, sun-drenched deck overlooking our gardens. Our breakfast menu is designed by a professional chef, whose dedication to fresh ingredients and organic products make breakfast sublime. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.