We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast
40 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Parry Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night in Parry Sound at 40 Bay Street B&B and had a great experience. Clean and private room, delicious breakfast (didn't need lunch that day) and fabulous location. We will be sure to return next time we are in Parry Sound. Thank you Susan!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
105
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent two nights at 40 Bay Street B&B. It was wonderful - Susan was a very welcoming host and she made a great breakfast - plus her muffins were soooo good! It had everything we needed - wifi being the most important and all rooms were ensuite - important to us. We stayed in the garden room - so had access to the deck outside plus I was able to hang my swimsuit on the line to dry over night.

Room Tip: We loved the garden room because of the deck outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This past weekend we finally went to Parry Sound for the Festival of the Sound. The weekend was full of wonderful music, great weather, cycling, and, of course, Susan's B&B. The garden room is lovely, with a private deck to enjoy reading and our pre-dinner gin & tonic. The nights are extremely quiet and comfortable except for the passing of the occasional train on the trestle above - at least no horns or whistles need be blown up there. And of course her breakfasts are great!

We would definitely return to see Susan and stay at her B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a fantastic venue ! We planned to be in Parry Sound for a bit of vacation and to do some float plane flying and stumbled into 40 Bay on the internet when we were looking for a place to stay. Susan being the perfect hostess was totally accommodating from the beginning in setting us up in the Retreat Room to treating us to afternoon tea and insights on the area. We ended up being rained out and spent most of the time lounging but returned six weeks later to a few more days of her delicious breakfasts and wonderful hospitality on a warm summer weekend.

It is a total pleasure sharing breakfasts with very interesting people who happen to be staying there and Susan more than accommodated our early arrival requirements.

Susan recommended some fantastic places for dinner (Glenburnie Lodge is a winner) and the visit could not have been better.

Room Tip: The retreat room is absolutely perfect however it faces the railway trestle and regular (long) train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were in town for a concert at the Stockey Centre, which is just a short five minute (literally) walk from the B&B. We stayed in the Garden Room, which was comfortable, scrupulously clean and has an immaculate ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful and Susan made us feel right at home.

We discovered that the B&B hostess, Susan, offers a "pillow library" which means I can leave my 'sculpted' pillow at home the next time I visit.

We loved the stay at 40 Bay!

Room Tip: The Garden Room was quiet, comfortable, and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We'd planned to see Georgian Bay for years. After researching on-line, we chose 40 Bay Street as a perfect destination to enjoy the area. It met all expectations. The meals, the table setting, so lovely. Susan is a delight and adds immensely to any stay. We also met very interesting guests, whom we vowed to keep in touch with. Highly recommend the Island Queen boat cruise.

Room Tip: The Garden Room offers a balcony over the perinnial garden - perfect. It's roomier as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, ON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Susan delivers all that is promised on 40 Bay's website with friendly and professional service and excellent breakfasts. My motorcycle was parked securely, off-street, accessible from the nicely private deck of the Garden Room. The place was spotlessly clean.

The B&B offers great viewing of the CPR trestle that crosses the bay, a magnificent structure that was built in 1907. Guests can relax on the deck or in their room watching mainline action as CP, CN and VIA head northbound. The trains are not too obtrusive for other guests as there are no whistled crossings in the immediate vicinity. Rail photographers will also find lots of good spots within a short drive to the CPR Parry Sound and CN Bala subs.

It was nice to park and relax. Several restaurants and local attractions are within walking distance. A return to 40 Bay is planned for our annual Fall colour road trip. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parry Sound's waterfront and just a stroll to all the major attractions in town, each of our air-conditioned suites offers a unique and outstanding feature - a stunning view of Georgian Bay and the town's waterfront, a room with a spa-like bathroom, or a private, sun-drenched deck overlooking our gardens. Our breakfast menu is designed by a professional chef, whose dedication to fresh ingredients and organic products make breakfast sublime. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast Parry Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40 Bay Street Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.