We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, fantastic atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge at Manitou

The Ridge at Manitou
160 Inn Road | RR No. 1, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W7, Canada
705 389 3978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 19 attractions in Parry Sound
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
Attraction Details
Central Ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a great spot for a better than average lunch or a terrific dining experience. Overlooking the lake with a resort type feel, this place delivers on excellent food in decent portions. this is part of a country club of a high end golf course, but there are quite affordable options...even the fine dining is well in line with similar restaurants that don't have half the atmosphere that this place has. Was at a wedding here as well this past summer and this place was awesome. I have a big appetite and I could hardly move after supper I was so full...ceasar salad is tremendous, beautiful steaks, salmon is some of the best you'll ever have. Only complaint I have with the place is not really fair, but wanted to take my wife here on our anniversary and they were closed due to a wedding...I think this happens a fair bit and to be fair, my first experience there was because I was at a wedding myself...just be forewarned...call first.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orillia ,on,canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Golf Course/ Lousy Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My foursome ordered lunch consisting of 2 clubhouse sandwiches and 2 beer battered fish and chips. The fish and the chips were dark in color and extremely greasy...it was so obvious that the cook needed to change the oil and have it at the proper temperature. It was just plain lousy!
The waitresses were no where to be found...there were only 2 other tables that were occupied.

I have dined here several times and was always satisfied...they must have some novice cook for their lunch hours!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Food, Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a restaurant where evry dish we had, we enjoyed. The servers were attentive and personable and the view of the Lake was fabulous! Highly recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
“A great golf experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My foursome thoroughly enjoyed, the course; the amenities and service second to none.

We are anxious to go back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wow. Worth the trip … to Parry Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My four-some traveled to the Ridge at Manitou in Parry Sound. It's quite the hike from Toronto but WELL WORTH THE EFFORT. The club house greeting friendly … good advice as to which T's to play from the Starter … and then there was the Golf Course.

Thomas McBroom has done a masterful job with this beautiful setting. Wow … spectacular holes which require great shots and 'educated' placement of your shots into the green … with sloping sides away from the greens … being short is NOT an option … you'll find out when your ball hits the slope and falls back to your feet … can you say frustrating … but give it respect … the Ridge is fun to play and in BEAUTIFUL condition. You'll feel as if you're alone in the wilds of Muskoka … it's a beautiful thing. Take in the panorama of the finishing Par 5 18th hole … a real 90º dog-leg left … after your T-shot … you are looking down hill all the way to the green … with Lake Manitou behind the green and the Club House overlooking the green to your right. Wow. It makes you wanna come back for more.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ridge at Manitou also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to The Ridge at Manitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge at Manitou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ridge at Manitou to your Saves list