We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big expansive area, nice campsites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Massasauga Provincial Park

Massasauga Provincial Park
380 Oastler Park Drive, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W8, Canada
705-378-0685
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Parry Sound
Type: National Parks
Activities: Hiking
Attraction Details
Central Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Big expansive area, nice campsites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Set along Georgian Bay (there are also inland lake sites where I have not visited), this provides wonderful camping experience for both paddlers and motorized watercraft. Visited this summer with my son for some camping and fishing out a small outboard fishing boat. I loved the privacy...not camping sites piled on top of each other. The only complaint I have is that interspersed with the park are several private lots with cottages and with that comes typical cottage activities like tubing, jetski's etc...although didn't see that much. Basically, you aren't fooled into thinking you are in the backwoods because you can look out from most sites I image and see a cottage or two...but then there are interior sites that are available for paddlers. Wonderful people that run the park out of Oastler Lake park campground.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place to Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I Love this park. We go several times every year, and the beauty of it strikes me every time.
The fishing is great, the wildlife is pretty good, and the lakes are relatively warm.

A couple of downsides: We like to canoe, but the motorboat traffic can be pretty bad, especially on long weekends in the summer. So if you are canoeing, stick to the northernmost lakes, where motorboats aren't allowed.
They have been making improvements to the park, building a visitor's centre, etc. and with improvements, comes popularity. We used to just show up with our trip plan, but now it's next to impossible to get a site, even when booking a few weeks in advance!

To those who have given bad reviews: This is a BACKCOUNTRY park, the facilities are exactly what is to be expected. At least there are facilities.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wreck Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wreck Island is part of the park and a wonderful place for a hike. There are good docks for mooring. There is a pamphlet guide for a hike across the island and around the perimeter that takes an hour. There are many interesting geological rock formations. The views of other islands in the park are breath-taking. It is a wonderful spot for a day trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“They don't have any day pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you want Hiking or swimming only, don't go there,
if you have boat or canoe, it is ok.
I tried to check with pet's access point admin, the staff told me they don't any day pass for PARK,
Plus the "washroom" is terrible, please hold and try to go any Marina.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous water access park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is truly a gem in the provincial parks in Ontario. It is essentially water access only, bu there are a couple of road access points you can use to get your kayak/canoe to the water. If you have a sail or power boat, access is from several points on Georgian Bay.

Anchor-off, camp, hike. It is just beautiful. We were there in our sailboat. Navigation charts are essential. There are lots of places where larger boats cannot go. There are some user fees involved depending on what you do in the park. The park is huge. Caution is advised when navigating or hiking. Haul out everything you take in and keep it beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massasauga Provincial Park also viewed

 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Massasauga Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massasauga Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.