We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn
41 Sunny Point Road, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound
Lesa, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my sons in a suite in the inn: nice rooms with a view of the lake, private garden with bbq, full kitchen. You can enjoy free canoe, basket, beach volley, tennis, and then swming, hiking, etc etc. Everything is clean inside and outside. A good place for families.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Allessandro, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Sunny Point. We appreciate that you choose our place for your brief stay in September. We try very hard to present our guests with a very clean suite and to provide amenities that are enjoyable. Sue and I hope to see you again soon. Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stouffville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have worked in the travel industry for 25 years, and have traveled extensively throughout the world, enjoying accommodation from the deluxe level, down to your 'cheap and cheerful'
Sunny Point Resort is an absolute pearl. The scenery is beyond stunning, with each cottage privately set in mature woodlands overlooking Otter Lake.
My family and I have just returned home from our 4th stay there. My boys are 9 and 12, and love the place. The dock and beach by the Inn is a great place for them to hook up with other kids and entertain themselves on the water trampoline, the diving tower and the woods. The tubing is amazing (extra cost) and will have you squealing your head off all the way down the magnificent lake.
I am always overwhelmed by the cleanliness of the cottages. Everything is always in perfect order. The owners, Andy and Sue ensure that all of their guests are taken care of, and have become friends with their many repeat clients.
I recommend Sunny Point to anyone that loves being in the midst of woodlands and water. For families, it's a great way to pluck the kids off the Xbox and let them explore the wonders of nature. My eldest son cried when we left!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Wendy, Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review about Sunny Point Resort. We very much enjoy hosting your family especially seeing the boys grow and mature year to year. As you know, we do take great pride in a clean presentation of our cottages. It does help when guests like yourself leave the cottages in good shape for our turn around. Sue and I consider the friendships we develop with our returning guests to be among the most satisfying parts of owning Sunny Point. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Sincerely, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our first stay at Sunny Point, and we had such a great time we've booked again for next year! I was there for a week with my 3 boys, ages 7, 8 and 12.....there's something to be said when none of them complain about being bored! Everything that you see advertised on the Sunny Point website is accurate......the boys loved swimming in the lake and used every possible piece of water equipment available at least once (paddle boats, kayaks, paddle boards, etc.). When we weren't in the water or relaxing on the deck, we were playing tennis, basketball, mini-golf and enjoying the walking trails that are on the property. There's also a rec centre with table tennis, air hockey, pool table, video games, etc., that helped entertain the boys on the days that were a bit cool for swimming. It was great to be able to leave the car parked for the week, and not worry about having to go off-site to find things to entertain us.

We stayed in the Rosseau Suite in the inn, which was just the right size for all of us. This suite is a main floor unit and has beautiful views of the lake, as well as a private patio and barbeque overlooking the lake. Everything in our suite was clean and comfortable, and the kitchen was stocked with all the necessary appliances needed.

Sunny Point is the perfect place to escape for awhile and just relax.....I'm so glad we found it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Sunny Point. You and your 3 boys absolutely get our vote for being the guest this summer who really used every inch of our 84 acres!! We enjoyed hosting you and your family and were pleased that you reserved for 2014. See you next summer. Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was our first stay at Sunny Point, and we have booked the cottage again for next year. We were with our 2 boys (7&8 years old) and the puppy. I thought the website was perhaps exaggerating, but there was no exaggeration. Clean cottage, everything there that you needed, already made beds (wonderful for a less-busy arrival!), and very private. Sue and Andy were the ultimate hosts, and even walked the puppy and took her for a "play/swim date" with their dog in the lake when we were gone for a day trip.

The kids loved the rec centre, playing shuffleboard/ping pong/air hockey for several hours. The main dock was fabulous as well, with the trampoline, water slide, and diving platform. They also loved the kayaks! We also appreciated the canoe that came with each cottage, and our puppy learned to swim in the lake off the dock.

Bad things?? Bed was a little soft (personal preference). That's about it.

I loved hearing that people had come back for many years, and I can certainly see why. Thanks again, Andy and Sue, and see you next year!

Julie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Julie,
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of Sunny Point. It was a pleasure hosting your family. As I had explained to you, Sue was very excited about having the opportunity to pet sit for you! I really do my best to give an accurate description about our property on the web site, in emails and when guests phone. I'm glad you mentioned that there is no exaggeration on our website. We very much appreciate that a vacation and time off is very special. We are the first to admit things are not perfect here. We do feel that Sunny Point provides a great value for our guests and we try very hard to make things consistent. As for the beds, we have only a few mattresses that are more than a few years old and these would be twins and not in your cottage. We have gone to a more plush level of mattress than we had in the past. I do appreciate your comment about you not preferring the softer one. We hope to see you again here soon. Sincerely, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing and meditative week at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages and Inn. It was our first time there and found it to be a great get away from the demands of city life. We stayed in Cottage #7 which was room enough to comfortably house 3 couples, and found it to be very clean and well kept upon our arrival. Although there are 10 cottages on the property, the Inn and the Grand Muskokan, each building provides privacy for its occupants and the owners really take great care in ensuring guests are very well taken care of. The lake is wonderfully clear and quite quiet - wonderful for swimming and canoeing. Great week! Definitely a place we want to return to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post about Sunny Point on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you as a guest at our resort. We work very hard to present the cottages and inn suites in very clean condition and are pleased you found Cottage 7 to be as we wish. I couldn't agree more with you about how wonderful the privacy is between cottages and among the inn suites and Grand Muskokan. Sue and I find this to be perhaps the most unique and special characteristic about Sunny Point. We are very pleased that you found this to be special about Sunny Point. We do appreciate the excellent condition you left Cottage 7 for us and hope to accommodate you again in the future. Sincerely, Andy Vitch, Sunny Point Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed at Sunny Point Resort for three summers now.
We have had a great time each year, weather has been pretty good, lake is nice and clean and is not too busy with big boats! Cottage is nice, clean and has lots of space. You are given a canoe and can rent an aluminum boat which is great.
They have a nice little beach area and a dock with a trampoline and jumping tower!!! They also offer tubing for a reasonable price!!
The owner is wonderful, and very accommodating.
We would highly recommend this place for a nice summer vacation. It's also nice to see some of the same families come back the same week each year!!!!
Thanks Sunny Point Resort!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It has been a pleasure hosting your family for the past 3 years and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Sue and I appreciate that families like yours continue to choose us when deciding on their vacation choices. Sincerely, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family (10 & 8 year old + dog) recently spent 1 week in a cottage at Sunny Point. The first day we arrived, I already knew that we would rebook for the next year. The cottage was private, very clean, beds made, kitchen well-equipped and a canoe ready to go on the dock. The only thing we really needed to show up with was our clothes and food. Except for restocking our groceries in Parry Sound, we did not touch our car the entire week. I also loved that I did not have to clean at the end of the week!

During our stay, we valued the privacy of our own cottage and dock, but also loved the fact that there were things for the kids to do. The highlight of each day was the peacefulness and views from our dock. The highlight of each day for the kids was spending hours jumping off the trampoline and tower (-the water was weed-free both at the main area and our own dock) then going to the rec centre to play ping pong. They even did a 2 hour kids' program on 2 of the days.

The canoeing is also amazing--a big enough lake for a longer paddle and a small enough bay to let the kids paddle on their own.

We loved the whole experience and can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnypt, Owner at Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Sunny Point on Trip Advisor. Sue and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the amenities and the cottage. I also really like the pictures you posted. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn

Address: 41 Sunny Point Road, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2W8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the finest Pet Friendly Waterfront Cottage Resorts in Ontario. 84 acres of privacy & amenities with eleven 3,4,5 & 7 bedroom cottages and a quaint 7 Suite Inn. 2700 feet of waterfront on Otter Lake. All units are waterfront and private. Amenities include boats, canoes, kayaks, paddleboats, beach, tennis, recreation centre, hiking trails, basketball, mini putt, volleyball, bbqs, docks, water trampoline, wireless internet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Point Resort, Cottages And Inn
Sunny Point Resort, Cottages Hotel Parry Sound
Sunny Point Hotel
Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn Parry Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Point Resort, Cottages & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.