We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad news about Glenn Burney Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenn-Burney Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenn-Burney Lodge
Save Saved
You added Glenn-Burney Lodge to your Saves list
49 Glen Burney Rd, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Parry Sound
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sad news about Glenn Burney Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This past week on November 19, 2013, Glenn Burney Lodge burned to the ground. The only thing left is the chimney of the fireplace. This is a huge loss not only to the owners but to all of us who loved this place and either stayed there or dropped in for some of the most wonderful meals. The old place will be missed and we can only hope that it will be rebuilt.

I will add my post-mortem evaluation to this wonderful place in spite of this terrible event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
37
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending an autumn weekend up near Parry Sound, Ontario at the Glenn-Burney Lodge. It was a beautiful hilltop place with a number of different rooms, cabins and cottages, it was absolutely perfect. The cabin was nicely furnished and the view of the fall colours spectacular. Our hosts were most accommodating and even arranged a two hour boat ride through the islands near Parry Sound. A great stay and highly recommended. Don't forget to check out the dining room as well. Delicious!

Room Tip: Bring a sweater to keep warm around the bonfires at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I went there few weeks ago for an overnight stay with my fiance (I did my proposal there). Before I went there, I mentioned it to the staff that I would have my proposal there. The staff were super nice. They served me wine when we got there, showed us the cabin where we stayed. At the restaurant, they put us at the end of the corner of the restaurant (facing the lake) to give me and my fiance some privacy. The night went very well, they played some great slow 80's song. Right after the proposal, the restaurant owner came to congratulate us, gave us free wine and dessert to celebrate. Overall, it was a great experience. I would definitely go back again at Glen Burney Lodge.

Room Tip: If you like to have some privacy, go with the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lodge in the woods. My room was a good size, in a semi-detached cabin, with a renovated bathroom, comfortable queen bed, bar fridge, microwave, new air conditioner.

Great dining room with small bar area, and another bar (brand new and beautiful) on a new deck by the dock which overlooks a small beach, the marina and the bay and islands.

Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at Glenn Burney. Our first trip, we stayed in one of the main rooms off the lodge. We enjoyed that room, it had everything we needed and was cozy and clean. This time we had a cabin. I loved it! Beautiful, spacious, clean and it even had air conditioning!(cottage cheating I know, but it was hot!) The staff were friendly, the food was great and the entire place is just beautiful. We caught the sunset on their patio with our view of Georgian Bay. We'll be back next year! If not before then, if we make a fall trip up there :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The lodge has worked hard to update the amenities and the rooms were nice and clean with a screened in balcony. The room had a fridge and microwave which was appreciated. The beds were comfortable. The fire pit in the evenings was a nice touch and the ability to walk down to the lake and enjoy the scenery was an added touch. The lodge is very secluded and the staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. A special call out to Zack. He delivered a glass of prosecco to us at our room when we checked in. This was so special and appreciated. We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great spot! Only a few minutes from downtown Parry Sound but but world's away!
My girlfriend and I booked a room here and found it very clean and comfortable and it had been recently renovated. There was also a private screened porch. The lodge itself is simply stunning with beautiful murals, carvings and even a totem pole in the main dining room. A beautiful collection of vintage guitars rounds out the room. For our dinner I had the scallops as an appetizer which were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. My girlfriend had the caesar salad with house smoked bacon which was also delicious. For the mains she opted for the very tasty fresh pickerel and I had rib-eye which was perfectly cocked and beautifully seasoned.
There's also a large patio on the water which has a very nice menu and is perfect for whiling away an afternoon.
Many thanks to the lovely staff and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a very nice room but next time we may try one of the cabins. (If they're not sold out!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenn-Burney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenn-Burney Lodge

Address: 49 Glen Burney Rd, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on an 11-acre hilltop property, the newly refurbished Glenn Burney Lodge combines lakefront charm with world-class comfort, making for a truly relaxing getaway experience. Choose from cozy lodge rooms or indulge your need for privacy with your own cabin. You can even book the entire lodge for any special event you have in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenn-Burney Hotel Parry Sound
Glenn-Burney Lodge Parry Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenn-Burney Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.