We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location in the woods with lake view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenn-Burney Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Parry Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenn-Burney Lodge
Save Saved
You added Glenn-Burney Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Parry Sound
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location in the woods with lake view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The lodge has worked hard to update the amenities and the rooms were nice and clean with a screened in balcony. The room had a fridge and microwave which was appreciated. The beds were comfortable. The fire pit in the evenings was a nice touch and the ability to walk down to the lake and enjoy the scenery was an added touch. The lodge is very secluded and the staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. A special call out to Zack. He delivered a glass of prosecco to us at our room when we checked in. This was so special and appreciated. We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
37
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great spot! Only a few minutes from downtown Parry Sound but but world's away!
My girlfriend and I booked a room here and found it very clean and comfortable and it had been recently renovated. There was also a private screened porch. The lodge itself is simply stunning with beautiful murals, carvings and even a totem pole in the main dining room. A beautiful collection of vintage guitars rounds out the room. For our dinner I had the scallops as an appetizer which were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. My girlfriend had the caesar salad with house smoked bacon which was also delicious. For the mains she opted for the very tasty fresh pickerel and I had rib-eye which was perfectly cocked and beautifully seasoned.
There's also a large patio on the water which has a very nice menu and is perfect for whiling away an afternoon.
Many thanks to the lovely staff and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a very nice room but next time we may try one of the cabins. (If they're not sold out!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were recently recommended we stay at the Glenn Burney Lodge for a weekend getaway... Best decision made so far all summer. The location is fabulous, it's quiet and right on by the water and only 10 minute drive from town. The rooms are cozy and the staff are fantastic, they're super helpful and friendly!!
But, I'd have to say, my favorite part of it all was the food... It is to die for. We ate there every night. First of all the dining room is beautiful. we got to watch the sun set during dinner! the menu isn't overwhelmingly long making it a lot easier to read, the portion sizes are perfect, and the wine... Ahh the wine was very very nice.

Overall, we had an amazing expierence and can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our second visit to Glenn-Burney Lodge in the last two years. We stayed in the main lodge building. Rooms are clean and well appointed with comfortable beds. The excellent restaurant looks out over a beautiful view of Georgian Bay. We also made use of the available canoes, which the lodge's offers for their guests use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a great place! Just spent a wonderful weekend here with my husband. Beautiful main lodge building has gorgeous interiour with stunning view of Georgian Bay. Loved the rustic decor and art, including a giant totem pole and large stone fireplace in the dining room. We had a room attached to main building- all very clean, with tv, small fridge, wi-fi and screened-in deck. Bedding was top-notch- which I'm usually fussy about but they had really comfortable beds with luxe linens. But best part had to be the meals. Everything from the french toast with fresh berries and fritatta with house-smoked bacon in the morning to the incredible fish platter at dinner was beyond all expectations. We've eaten at many well-known hi-end restaurants here and abroad and this place can definitely hold it's own. We have a cottage about an hour away and are already planning road trips next summer so we can come by for dinner. As for the staff- very friendly and any questions/requests we had were no problem. All in all, it was a great, relaxing weekend, and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had room attached to main lodge building which was convenient because it rained a lot while we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Superb location. Young staff but very formal. Food was amazing. During our stay it was very quite and lot of senior citizens were having fun. We were bit isolated with an 8 month old. We will try this place again in summer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My spouse and I visited this weekend I have to say that I was blown away by the service and charm of this wonderful resort. We arrived in the evening settled in to our queen suite. The room was very clean and well designed. TV was huge and the room provided more than we expected. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was above average.

The staff from start to finish were incredible. Everyone was extremely friendly and catered to our every need without hesitation.

If you go to the lodge, dinner in the restaurant on site is an absolute must. Chef provided us with quite possibly the finest meal we have ever had and the pricing for this level of cuisine was more than reasonable.

After dinner the staff invited us out to a lovely fire outside where we enoyed the rest of the evening under the stars.

We stayed in the fall and I can say without doubt that we will be back next summer. Great resort, great food and great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenn-Burney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenn-Burney Lodge

Address: 49 Glen Burney Rd, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Parry Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on an 11-acre hilltop property, the newly refurbished Glenn Burney Lodge combines lakefront charm with world-class comfort, making for a truly relaxing getaway experience. Choose from cozy lodge rooms or indulge your need for privacy with your own cabin. You can even book the entire lodge for any special event you have in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenn-Burney Hotel Parry Sound
Glenn-Burney Lodge Parry Sound, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenn-Burney Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.