We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuttobene, Maurizio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maurizio's - Taste of Italy

Maurizio's - Taste of Italy
5A Great North Road, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X8, Canada
705-771-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Traditional home made style Italian food. Mom and Son run take out restaurant. Located in the venter of Parry Sound next to the Seguin Bridge. Look for the Italian flags! Please DO NOT follow google's GPS driving instructions as they are incorrect. Thank you Maurizio
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tuttobene, Maurizio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Yummy. Totally authentic. Excellent biscotti and main dishes. There is one table, but the restaurant is intended to be take out (although we ate "in" and had a few lessons in Italian). Am hoping that they will expand into a full restaurant and then I will have yet another reason to visit this lovely area. Grazie mille, Maurizio's!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Owner at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Beverley, thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal that day. Theres always a few free Italian lessons when you walk in here. My parents were born in Italy and I'm 1st generation Canadian; so we know everything Italian :) Thank you again.

Sincerely;

Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“vegetarian or carnivore?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was fantastic for both of us...visiting Parry Sound....we will back tomorrow for the rice balls and the espresso! ALL HOME MADE RIGHT FROM ITALY! Karen and Stan

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Maurizio's loves the fact we are a healthy minded family. We believe everyone has the right to eat healthy, and most of all enjoy the meal right down to the last bite! So we strive to bring everyone dishes from both sides of the coin; vegetarian and meat styles alike. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner; we look forward to your next visit. :)

Sincerely;
Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian food that exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Growing up with an Italian grandmother has made me alternately critical and disappointed with most of my restaurant experiences, but Maurizio's exceeded all my expectations. Flavourful, authentic and great serving sizes. I just can't say enough about how pleased I am to finally have an italian restaurant that is truly authentic. Delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Italian Grandmothers are the roots of old fashion quality Italian cooking. To be compared to your Grandmothers cooking is simply .... Fantastic! It makes us proud to be able to give you "home" like cooking. Plus it made my mom happy to read your kind words :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped in last night after some shopping. Great Italian food. Can,t wait to try it all.
Hope you get that pizza oven for summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Next time you visit, you have to request our pulled pork Panzerotti and one of our Panzerotti Pastries filled with melted dark chocolate and fresh strawberries... Decadent if I say so myself. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best - Home made Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a great place to stop by to get amazing home-made Italian food, or if you are on the way to your camp or cottage, call ahead! The menu changes depending on what is coming out of the oven that day, but we have never been dissappointed. Maurzio and his mother make sure only the best ingredients go into making their entrees, and they are always fresh. They seem very proud of what they make, and always take the time to explain what is in each meal. The restaurant is best for take-out in the winter as there is really only one small table inside. It appears that in the summer there would be other seating possibilities outdoors, and it is in an interesting place as it is near the river.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It makes us happy to see others enjoy the dishes I've grown up on. We are a proud bunch :) Molte Gracie

Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maurizio's - Taste of Italy also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Maurizio's - Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.