We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing soup!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maurizio's - Taste of Italy

Maurizio's - Taste of Italy
5A Great North Road, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X8, Canada
705-771-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Traditional home made style Italian food. Mom and Son run take out restaurant. Located in the venter of Parry Sound next to the Seguin Bridge. Look for the Italian flags! Please DO NOT follow google's GPS driving instructions as they are incorrect. Thank you Maurizio
Parry Sound, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing soup!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had the FREE Lentil soup and WOW!! It was amazing. I've had lentil soup from other places but none of those soups can even compare to Maurizio's, it had so much flavour, and it was free with my lunch order. The best veal sandwich paired with the best soup. If you're in Parry Sound visit Maurizio's Taste of Italy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Nothing beats home made, especially home soup on a cold day. Glad you enjoyed our Lentil soup that day, its one of my personal favourites. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Came to Parry Sound for a hockey tournament and stopped here for lunch. The food was the best Italian food I have ever eaten!! The service was awesome and I highly recommend this place to all!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are very pleased we were able to warm you up and give you guys the much needed "good carbs" to fuel your hockey games. Feel free to drop us an email or phone call to let us know when you'll be in town next and we'll be sure to cook up another batch of healthy carbs for your hockey games :) Cheers!

Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Today I was at Maurizio's for the first time, I am first generation Italian, I felt I was home with "mamma". The food was amazing, LIKE HOME. They use the right ingredients, all tasted fresh. One special note for the expresso: it is the best I have ever had north of Toronto!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
From one 1st generation Italian to the next, "just like Momma's" is a compliment unlike any other. That made my mom smile when she read your review. Thank you!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Threw a Dart at a Map”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I came through Parry Sound for no reason other than to see a place I never had. Wandering the streets, I came across this small takeout restaurant advertising homemade Italian food. Well, I was treated to a great experience overall both times - large portions, delicious food, and a knowledgeable and friendly owner whose own mother does the cooking. It's what an out-of-towner like me lives to find. Don't miss out on a chance to try it out yourself. I went twice in two days.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Of all the places you could have gone for lunch we were humbled that you chose us to dine at. It was a great pleasure meeting you and hearing about your cross country voyage. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Parry Sound and look forward to your next visit. I have an Espresso with your name on it. On the house :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Real Italian food in Parry Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I went to Maurizio's while visiting Parry Sound. It was fantastic!!

I had the lasagna and my husband had the prosciutto panzarotti. Both were delicious and similar to what we've had in Italy.

Some people might complain that it's expensive (as a previous reviewer has) and they may also complain that the portions are not big enough. I disagree completely! The portions aren't big enough to make you feel sick from over-eating but they are generous enough to leave you feeling satisfied. Also, the ingredients are all homemade and fresh so the price is justified!

Way to go Maurizio's!! Next time we're in Parry Sound we will be coming back for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaurizioTOI, Director of Sales at Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Although Maurizio's is an Italian Family run establishment; its nice to be equally compared to venues native to Italy from and a valued customer such as your self. It makes us feel that our efforts to remain European in all that we make has been well received as "traditional" in every sense. Thank you for that, it means allot to us.

Sincerely;
Maurizio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maurizio's - Taste of Italy also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Maurizio's - Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maurizio's - Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.