We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro by the Bay

Bistro by the Bay
2 James Street, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 1T2, Canada
+1 705-746-3712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Parry Sound
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Grill, Bistro, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hello and welcome to our Bistro By The Bay web site. We are located at 2 James Street in Parry Sound, Ontario, near the port facilities. Our "on-the-deck" dining experience provides a pleasing view of the Seguin River rapids as well as the nearby Georgian Bay port itself. Indoor seating is also available, of course. We are pleased to offer our valued customers a fine dining menu that includes shrimp and mussels in six different sauces, pickerel, salmon, cornish hen, stuffed pork, fall off the bone ribs, some wonderful pastas, and a variety of delicious homemade desserts. We also provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Parry Sound, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I frequent The Bistro, knowing I will be accommodated with fresh food and friendly service. Last night I was able to partake in a wonderful culinary and wine pairing evening. WOW!! The wines chosen were so well matched to the exciting and "melt in your mouth" and unique flavours, from the Scallop Bruschetta, to the lime, chocolate, tequila mousse!!
Hats off for offering such a fun and exciting evening on a Spring Night in Parry Sound!

I will definitely want to join in on another fantastic event at The Bistro on the Bay!
Thank you!

Lisa

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and the food is outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Lovely spot. Fantastic food and service. Outdoor porch for summer dining. Very accomplished chef.this is the best food in Parry Sound. The servers make great recommendations based on the daily menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcdougall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Our favorite restaurant. Love the atmosphere. The staff are great. But most of all the food is top quality and magnificently prepared. The owner and chef go above and beyond to accommodate food allergies. So appreciated. The new menu items are incredible. The old favorites still loved. Always worth the very reasonable prices!! By far the best restaurant in Parry Sound!!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AWESOME LAMB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The service is good, friendly and the food is simply awesome! If I want to go out for a GREAT meal in Parry Sound, this is the restaurant of choice. I am not a fan of Lamb, but it is the dish I have every time I come here. The visit date is not correct as I visit here at least once a month when they are open.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing gluten free pasta and garlic bread. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The dedicated and courteous staff and owner/ operators of the bistro on the bay serve a full verity of delicious dishes of witch in include a verity of gluten free options. The absolutely amazing chef Dave cooks every dish to perfection that looks like art.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro by the Bay also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Bistro by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.